Indie Publishing, Indie Rambles

Indie Rambles #5 – Resources

Books from Amazon
Books from Amazon

Indie Books

This box of resource books arrived while I was trying to figure out my cover design. I buy almost all of my craft books in print form so that I can underline phrases, ear mark pages, apply sticky notes, and make notations in the margins. The two in the front were recommended at the Nationals and the other two were recommended by Amazon.

I’ve finished Write Publish Repeat, The No-Luck-Required Guide to Self-Publishing Success by Sean Platt, Johnny B.Truant with David Wright. Loved it. I’ll be talking about it for a long time to come, so I won’t go into detail here. I’ve started watching their podcasts (i.e., SPP – Self Publishing Podcasts) on You Tube. They make one every week, cover a lots of great topics and have really interesting guests, like CJ Lyons and Hugh Howey- icons in the indie universe. They joke around a lot, but they also provide heaps of information. That’s where I first heard about 99designs.

Do you have favorite books on the subject? These four are just the beginning for me.

Indie Articles

Once I started looking, I found tons of articles coming my way about Indie publishing. Two of note. “Self-Publishing: A Step-by-Step Plan” by Gigi Panidan in the First Draft Sister’s in Crime magazine and “Self-Publishing: Finding an Editor” by Lourdes Venard also from the First Draft Sister’s in Crime mag.

Courses

Meanwhile, I’m taking an excellent coffin course from the Kiss of Death chapter of the RWA, Before Bond and Clouseau by Beth Daniels. I’m learning all about the history of espionage. Da da da daaaaaaah. Quite intriguing.

Did you know that the U.S. Secret Service was formed by President Lincoln on the day of his assassination to investigate counterfeit money? Love the details.

My Progress

September has been wild. It’s my first month being on the Indie track. I’m like the little train that could. “I think I can…I think I can…I think I can.” Coming to the end of the first bend in the tracks, I’ve figured out enough acronyms to survive in my new world,  got a cover design for my first book that I love,  found a designer who’s great to work with (Nina French), read  tons about how to self-publish, and am currently in search of a good copy-editor. Phew. It’s exciting being in charge, but it’s also crazy-ass busy. Did I mention that I finished the first draft of a book? Ancient Danger. That too.

My friends wonder where I disappeared to. Actually some days I wonder. I’ve been walking a fine line between embracing creative solitude and becoming a weird old bat in a flannel nightgown.

I think October will be more normal. Maybe.

How About You?

Have you read some good craft books lately? Are you on the verge of going batty? Love to hear from you.

************************************************

Newsletter Contest Reminder

If you’re interested in receiving my newsletter click here to sign up. At the end of October one subscriber’s name will be drawn for a ten dollar Amazon gift card.

 

9 thoughts on “Indie Rambles #5 – Resources

  1. Pat
    Love your sense of humor.
    Learning about indie publishing has become my hobby, I guess.
    Thanks for your confidence in me and for stopping by and commenting. You rock.
    Best Wishes
    Jo-Ann

    Like

  2. The learning curve you’re on sounds amazing, but you’ll never be just ‘a weird old bat in a flannel nightgown.’ All those mental gymnastics, not to mention your word output, must really make you appreciate a fellow human being by the end of the day, especially one who will cook (?)

    Like

    1. Hi Helena
      Yeah. It’s been hectic and sushi fixes have kept us going. It’s funny how life never turns out the way you think it will.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Good grief, Jo-Ann, you posted this on Thursday! Sorry to just be dragging in. Great post as usual and I’ll share. I got the print copy of VERMONT ESCAPE this morning. Actually, it was delivered last night, but we didn’t find it until this morning. Sooooo freaking fantastic!
    My point is, if I can get registered on CreateSpace and work through the system to upload the book (clearly easier than the registration process–at this point I’m not sure I see the +s of being an LLC! But thank you lawyer DH!) it sure made the sign up a mess.), then anyone can do it.
    I love how you dig into the research aspect of everything you do, Jo-Ann. I’ve been accumulating info for a couple of years before deciding to publish my own print book and my small e-publisher handles the rest of the stuff. (Though I strongly suspect the WIP, I might very well do all on my own.) By then you’ll have all the kinks worked out . Between you & Jerrie A, I should do fine.
    Again, I’m so thrilled your going this route. And thanks for making your journey so fun to watch. I can’t believe you wrote: I’m learning all about the history of espionage. Da da da daaaaaaah. Quite intriguing. LOL Of course I can believe it. One of the reasons you’ll be so successful!

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Sorry, I’m so late responding. I’ve been travelling too and my phone app won’t let me post comments. I think it has PMS or something.
      I love your positive vibe. I’m so lucky to have you as a friend.
      Congratulations on self pubbing Vermont Escape. I can only imagine how wonderful it is to hold it in your hands. Well worth the work, eh.
      In one of my resource books they talk about forming a “brain trust”, a group of people who you share ideas and information with. You are definitely part of mine, and I’ll always be here to help you in any way I can.
      Enjoy your books.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

