3 Key Points for Indie Publishers by Bella Andre and Barbara Freethy (RWA 2014)

The actual title of the session is: Strategies for Intermediate to Advanced Indie Publishers (tape 09-091)

3 Keys

One – The Most Important Thing

  • …is to get out the next book

Two- Think About the Reader

  • in Indie Publishing it’s all about the reader
  • what do your readers like? what do they want more of?
  • interact with them on SM etc.

Three – Keep Your Focus

  • hard, but so important
  • you need to get more product out. The time required for tasks other than writing the next book (such as making audio books or translated copies)  has to be weighed against the importance of getting the next book out.

Homework!

Yes, they assigned homework:

  1. choose one retailer and study their site (who do they focus on, which genres are featured etc.)
  2. find 20 promotional sites
  3. create a business trust group (of people you can bounce your business ideas/decisions around with)
  4. create a monthly action To-Do list (5 goals)
  5. create a yearly action …
  6. monitor your emotional and creative well-being. Balance is important

More…

Of course they said tons more, and if you’re interested in this topic I suggest you listen to the tape of the session. There are many many gems of wisdom in it.

***************************************

Me

I’m busy trying to make final decisions about my cover. At this stage, I have to make sure I own or have the license to use all pictures used in it. It’s a trickier process than I realized, but I’m learning. Hopefully, by Thursday, I’ll be able to show you my decision.

You?

Any thoughts on the topic?

*******************************************************************************************************************************************

Newsletter Contest Reminder

If you’re interested in receiving my newsletter click here to sign up. At the end of October one subscriber’s name will be drawn for a ten dollar Amazon gift card.

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

7 thoughts on “3 Key Points for Indie Publishers by Bella Andre and Barbara Freethy (RWA 2014)”

  1. I wouldn’t think ownership or right to use would be all that complicated when you’re working with even beginning designers. It seems to be pretty well one of the first things taught in any course my son, or anyone else I know, who has anything to do with using photos, artwork etc has taken. I know for myself I’ve used Shutterstock and then my son has added in the graphics and tweaked as necessary. They make it pretty easy. He’s also told me about a few other sights. Given that you’re working with designers for your cover you really shouldn’t have to reinvent the wheel. In my opinion anyway.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Nina French, my designer, has been great. I can’t say enough good things about her and will fill you in on Thursday’s blog post.
      The problem was me learning my role (with the help of the Sisters in Crime Guppy loop). As a publisher I need to own the license to all pictures used on the cover. You may have known that, but I didn’t until near the end, so then I had to scramble.
      One of the pictures came from Istock. I purchased it. No problem. The other came from the Internet and I had to contact the photographer. I worried (a lot) that he wouldn’t respond in time, but I got his permission in an email this morning. In the meantime we were trying different pictures in case he didn’t respond.
      So long story short – it all worked out and I now understand my responsibilities as a the publisher. And I have a few more gray hairs. Highlights. It’s all good.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

