contests, Mata Hari Series, New Book Launch

A Launch Date, Newsletter and Contest

from EA (1)April 1st Launch Date

Yup, my Mata Hari series will launch on April fools’ day. I’ll be releasing three titles on the first. More will follow shortly afterwards. Btw did I mention, the first book, Covert Danger came third in the Sheila contest. Yay!

What is the Mata Hari Series?

A single woman – a double life.

A cross between Indiana Jones and Covert Affairs.

Fashion model by day and a spy by night, Sadie Stewart is a femme fatale to be reckoned with and the Mata Hari series is a collection of her stories.

Jo-Ann’s Newsletter 

I’ll be sending out a newsletter ever second month to keep readers informed about my writing projects, contests and publication dates. You can subscribe here.DSCN2098

Contest

If you sign up for my newsletter you have a chance to win a $10.00 Amazon gift card. A winner will be announced at the end of October. So far there are only two names on my list (mine and PJs) and we don’t count, so your odds are good.

Your turn

Have you turned yourself inside out lately creating a newsletter or starting out on a new SM platform?  I’d love to hear your stories.

Pssst – don’t forget the contest.

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “A Launch Date, Newsletter and Contest

    1. Thanks Joanne
      It’s exciting to be taking the publishing part into my own hands, but also scary.
      I really appreciate your support.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Emma
      Me too! I retired on April 1st a few years ago. It just turned out to be an optimum time in terms of benefits. I loved telling everyone about my April Fools’ event. That’s why I chose the date. It’s a good one for me.
      Thanks for stopping by Emma.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Oh, Jo-Ann, that’s so exciting! Congratulations on making such a momentous decision! That’ll be an April Fool’s to remember. 🙂 Can’t wait to read them!

    Like

    1. Thanks Ros
      It was a hard decision, but I don’t think I’ll be doing any looking back. It’s exciting to take the reins.
      Thanks for your support. You rock.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Lisa
      Thank you. I can feel your good vibes coming my way. When I’m not terrified, I’m really excited .
      Best always
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Oh Pat
      I love your prediction. Thanks for signing up for my newsletter and being such a positive friend.
      The one thing I know for sure, is that I’m going to learn a lot.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Jacquie
      No dancing or pepto yet. Just a lot of grumbling at my computer as I try to piece together my covers. It’s fun…I think .
      Thanks for stopping by and encouraging me.
      Best Wishes always
      Jo-Ann

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Polly
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation. I love hearing that you have no regrets.
      And thank you for your well wishes.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Yay, Jo-Ann! I just signed up for your newsletter so I can follow your journey to April Fool’s Day (great date to pick) and beyond! Looking forward to reading you series – it sounds fantastic!

    Like

  3. Hey, Jo-Ann. Congrats for finally taking the leap. Love your plans. You’re so smart to release the books close together. Can’t wait to read them. Despite that I don’t like newsletters (have never set one up and seldom read others when they come LOL) I did sign up for yours and will likely read it.
    I just like doing it all through the blog, but that’s one of the great things about this. Everyone can do it her own way.
    I’m just really pleased you’re doing this. If I can get the WIP written, I may do that with it, too. I’ll have printed a couple myself by then, so that should make it easier.
    Cyber toasts to you, my friend. You are going to rock the Indie world. 🙂

    Like

    1. Marsha
      Thanks so much for visiting and signing up for my newsletter, even though it’s not your favorite way to get information. I like blogs too and I always thought I’d start a newsletter after I published, but several of the workshops at the Nationals talked about newsletters being the most important promotional tool, because they are a list of people who are interested in your work, and you can talk directly to them whenever you want to. They advise starting the list as soon as possible, so I have. So far it’s been well received. No one laughed at me started early and that’s a good thing. I’ll let you know how it goes.
      That being said, I agree with you, we all need to promote our writing in our own way. I love reading the family stories on your blog. Your voice shines there, and you have a good following. What could be better?
      I’m sending positive vibes your way to finish your WIP. I’m almost half way through mine and trying to increase my daily word count.
      Now that I’ve taken the leap, I feel great. My days of waiting for calls and emails and of trying to write stories that fit perfectly on the publisher’s shelves are over for me. I’ve taken over the reins and it’s fun. I spend my days writing and my evenings playing with cover designs.
      My trip to San Antonio was a career changing experience. And eating Tex-Mex with you is one of my fondest memories.
      Thanks again for stopping by and being so supportive,
      Best Wishes XOXO
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. I totally think you’re doing all this in a timely manner, Jo-Ann. I know what the gurus say about newsletters. I may have to do that at some point. You already have such a huge following on your blog ( which I so enjoy and have learned so much from) that I’m sure it will transfer well to newsletters. I think most readers like them and the contests–the other thing I don’t care for. LOL What can I say, I’m a stick in the mud.
        Glad the trip to SA and RWA proved so beneficial. That’s what we all hope from those kinds of investments. I’m thrilled we could touch base in person. and I truly can’t wait to read your books. I started to write next April can’t come to soon for us. but then I realized we both have a lot to do between now and then. It doesn’t need to come any faster than it will. You’ll have three books out. I’ll have three e-books books & two in print. Exciting time to be an author. And the very best part is making friends with folks like you. 🙂 Okay, let’s get buys!

        Like

  4. Congratulations!!! We need to have a workshop or something on going indie. I have 3 stories I’d like to put out there but am terrified to take the leap!

    Like

    1. Hi Allie
      One thing that really stuck out for me, when I listened to the tapes on Indie publishing from the Nationals, is that there is no bible and that everyone is finding their own way. Sound familiar?
      The whole process is so new that no one is an expert. People ahead of us can tell us what worked for them, but it may not work for us given that the market keeps changing and we may not be writing the same thing as them.
      That being said, I’d gobble up a workshop on the topic.
      For now, I’m listening to all the National tapes and I’ve ordered a bunch of recommended books. Stay tuned to my blog on Mondays. I’ll be talking about both.
      In the meantime, nice to meet a fellow wanderer on the journey. Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. Hi Jo-Ann,

    Congratulations. The cover looks great, it’s very exciting to launch so much at once – a book, a contest, a newsletter!
    I just got a website set up and running a few months ago, and it’s taken me all this time to make it work properly and do what I am telling it to do, sigh. But it’s been very exciting. I wish you the best, Sylvie

    Like

Leave a Reply

