2014 RWA Nationals, Writing Life

Meeting Marsha in San Antonio

Marsha R. West, Author

Writing friends are kindred spirits who understand you in ways the rest of the world doesn’t. Today’s story is about my Texan buddy, Marsha. 

The Back Story

I met Marsha R. West two years ago, when she started following my crazy stories about getting lost in Florence Italy.  Soon after, I started following her blog. Both retired educators, grandmothers and women who believe in happy endings, we spend our days crafting Romantic Suspense stories. Although we live at least a thousand miles away from each another, we have a lot in common.

Marsha has published two books with MIU, Vermont Escape and Truth be Told. Below is a picture of a booklet she uses for promotion. I love the way it features both of her covers and has the lighthouse, which in my mind represents Marsha, on the side.

I’m “pre-published” as we RWA gals like to say, and Marsha cheers me on every step of the way.

Our friendship is remarkable: strong, deep and enigmatic. We follow each other’s lives and careers on Twitter, Facebook and our blogs. Marsha is a loyal and kind friend; a wise woman who sees “the good” in people and situations. I’ value her ideas and opinions.

San Antonio

Casa Rio
Casa Rio

When Marsha found out I was heading to the 2014 RWA Nationals in San Antonio, she decided to meet me. She said she couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see me in person. She and her dh drove five hours to meet PJ and me. We had a wonderful evening together chatting over iced tea, and Tex Mex on the River walk. Getting together in person made our relationship even stronger. It was the highlight of my trip.

As luck would have it, the pictures of the two of us together didn’t turn out. We were so tired from our horrific flight (another story) we didn’t realize it.

I figure it’s the universe’s way of saying, “You two need to visit again.”

Click here to read Marsha’s story about our visit.

How about you? Do you have friends who see you through the storms?

9 thoughts on “Meeting Marsha in San Antonio

  1. Nor I. I’m drinking OJ in my Hard Rock hurricane glass while watching an English Manor house being redone. I’ve never written historical but it’s sparking ideas for scenes. Do writers ever watch something or experience it without at some point, ‘on, that would make …?’

    Like

  2. My adventures with writing friends (both locally and abroad) are some of my favorites. I hope these adventures never end. Love how you summed up your photo glitch by saying: “You two need to visit again.” So true!

    Like

  3. Oh, Jo-Ann. You brought a tear to my eye. You’re such a sweetie. Wish we’d realized about the picture of the two of us. But you know we were already pretty hot and sweaty, so maybe it wouldn’t have looked good. We’d have felt like we had to use it. 🙂 Yuck! And yes, there will be another in person visit. “Don’t know when. Don’t know where.” As the old song goes. Maybe RWA in San Diego. I’ve never been there. But somewhere for sure.
    I’m so excited for you about your request for a full! Can’t wait to hear the good news. We’ve gotta get you published, girl.
    Thanks for the link to my blog. You think of everything. 🙂 Marsha

    Like

  4. Jo-Ann! Your description of Marsha is spot on! She’s my glass half full friend and I try to see things like she does. Her optimism is something most of us could use a doze of. 🙂 Great post.

    Like

    1. Hi Jerrie
      Marsha always speaks highly of you too. I hope to meet you one day. Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

