3 Favorite Summer Memories

Summer is a time for making memories big, small and just the right size. I challenged myself to burrow through my stockroom of images and emotions and come out with three faves. Trust me, the cobwebs were thick.

One – Cottages in Ontario

I grew up in Toronto, a flat city of cement and concrete  that would heat up to over a hundred degrees in the summer, The falls at Go Home lakefrizzing my hair and my brains. Some of my best memories are of going to cottages north of the city and playing in the cold clear lakes. My favorite was my nephew’s cottage on Go Home Lake in the Muskoka area. Pure paradise. We canoed, and swam and laughed. We laughed a lot. Great times. There is a special feeling of connection when you spend time with with people you love surrounded by nature.

 

Two – Campfires in northern B.C.

We were living on the Haida Gwaii, a rugged pristine wilderness area often referred to as the Northern Galapogos. Hard to imagine wanting to leave it’s shores, but in the summer we’d take the kids camping on the way to visit their grandmother stopping in Prince Rupert and Terrace and ending up in Smithers.

owlThe campsites were clean and not busy in those days. There were no fire bans.

My favorite part of camping is sitting around the fire. It invites a primal sharing that stirs the marrow in my bones.

My favorite memory is of one full-moon night at Tyhee Provincial Park. The kids were fast asleep in our little tent, exhausted from a day of swimming in the lake. PJ and I sat by a crackling fire. Our bellies were full of hot dogs and s’mores. The old coffee pot blackened from the flames stayed warm on top of the fire. The air smelled of the forest.

I read Robert Ludlum’s, Bourne Identity out loud. The only thing better than reading a good story is sharing one. We relaxed into the moon-lit night with the fire and the story… and as if that wasn’t quite enough, a Gray owl joined us, perching on a branch of a tree at the edge of our clearing only six feet from where we sat. My heart stopped.

And yes, it started again, but I swear it was never the same.

Three – Weddings

I shed bittersweet tears of joy watching my daughters marry the men they love.

How about you? Want to share a favorite memory?

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

10 thoughts on “3 Favorite Summer Memories”

  1. Reblogged this on Finder's Keeper's and commented:
    This post by Jo-Ann Carson, gives you a fun glimpse into the heart of the Canadian wilderness. I enjoyed reading about her three favorite summer memories, and when I finished I immediately start thing of all my camping stories from my own youth. Therefore, her last line, to share you own thoughts, has caused me to dig a little into my own memory trunk.

    For now I will leave you with Jo-Ann’s thoughts, while I gather my own. Happy reading, Tracey

    Like

      1. I was fun to look back and re-examine my childhood amidst the Kentucky wilderness… 😉 thanks for following, I enjoyed you post

        Tracey

        Like

  2. Summer memories

    There are so many. I grew up out here and while you were hanging out at the lake I was playing badmontin in the back yard while my parents talked and drank endless cups of coffee over-looking the yard, aka badmontin court.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      It sounds wonderful. I can see you playing in the sunshine, smiling from ear to ear.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Lovely memories, Jo-Ann. I don’t have any special summer memories from when I was a kid because we were always moving. Nothing was ever the same. Huh! It may be why now I’m so averse to change. LOL But I have lots when thinking about raising our two daughters. For 5 Augusts in a row when the girls were in elementary to 9th grade going to Red River, New Mexico. My husband had a client with a condo, he generously let us use for a week. Those were lovely visits. Cool, beautiful trees, lovely small town we walked around in. Fishing for DH and the girls. We have a wonderful movie the took one year when one of them sprained her ankle and we drove around. One was called, Ground Hogs of Red River. The other was Beer Cans & Trash of Red River. Don’t remember which daughter took which one. They narrated the movies.
    They have great memories of those trips. Evidence is that when we started talking about taking a family trip this summer with SsIL, and our grands, the girls both suggested we go to Red River. I’ll be reporting on that on my blog next month. Thanks for sharing, Jo-Ann. Brought back lovely memories. I’ll be sharing. (Your descriptions are so wonderful. I feel like I’m right there with you sitting around the camp fire.)

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Your trips to Red River sound awesome. Family memories…nothing more priceless.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Hi Jo-Ann,
    I made a summer memory this past week when my daughter came for a visit. We decided to go to Hornby Island, an old favorite of ours, but had to wait for the ferry. There is a seafood store just beside the on-ramp. We bought candied salmon and washed it down with Elderflower soda, remembering the summer we sat in our car at Ford’s Cove, on Hornby. That time we listened to Leonard Cohen’s ‘Blue Raincoat’ as we polished off a carton of Haagen Daz and watched the sun sink into the sea. These two mother-daughter memories are separated by thirty years.So precious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

