Truth be Told by Marsha R. West

Cover_Truth Be Told

BLURB:

SWAT member teams with brother’s former homicide detective partner to stop a blackmailer. Falling in love wasn’t one of their strategies.

Needing a peaceful visit with her Fort Worth family for Christmas, Meg Bourland is shocked to discover someone is blackmailing her father. When he rebuffs her offer to help, the Atlanta SWAT team member enlists the help of her brother and his former LA police officer partner to uncover the truth. She fights her attraction for Scott and the immediate tug to her heart. But her life is in Atlanta, and his is in California.

Scott McClaine, medically retired, came to Fort Worth to recuperate from life-threatening bullet wounds he received saving the life of Meg’s brother. Hard enough to accept his new physical limitations, but in Scott’s mind they make him unacceptable for a strong Meg. Regardless, he commits himself to helping her stop the blackmailer. Working closely with her, a bond forms. Could she feel the same?

In the search for truth, Meg and Scott uncover pieces of the puzzle, which threaten to ruin her father’s career as mayor and destroy the family she holds dear. Will Meg and Scott find their way through the maze of family secretes? Will they find the strength to make the sacrifices required for real love before the blackmailer kills?

Excerpt

“Dad, is something wrong?” Again no response. Meg moved further into the study. The pipe smoke smell dimly registered. Was he having a heart attack? She stopped in front of his desk. “Dad?” Almost shouted the word.

“What?” His gaze lighted on her for a moment before darting around the room. Didn’t he recognize her?

“Meg?” He shoved his hair off his forehead and dragged in a breath. “When did you arrive?” He asked in a voice tight with strain. His gaze never connected with hers.

Not a heart attack. Thank God. She let out a huff of air. “A while ago. Are you all right?”

Her father placed his hands on the desk and straightened into the ramrod posture she’d seen all her life.

“Everything’s fine.”

He used the same word Meg did when things were the opposite of all right.

“Glad you got home okay.” His voice was stronger now. He shuffled through files on his desk. “I…uh…came to pick up this folder.” Unusual for her father to stammer. He was always self-assured. He waved the file in the air and shoved others into the center drawer. “I’m heading back to work now.”

He threw an arm around her shoulder, hustled her out of his study, and closed the door with a distinct thud.

“But Dad—”

“Don’t mention to your mother that you saw me.”

He glanced toward Meg, but still he made no eye contact. All her cop instincts shouted this was trouble.

Getting to know Marsha West

Author PicMarsha visited me when she launched her first book, Vermont Escape, last year, so I had to come with new questions for her this time. I chose to borrow from Proust. Here are her answers:

1. Your favorite virtue.

If you mean the one I think it’s most important for everyone to have, I’ll choose, Respectful. If you treat everyone respectfully, all the other virtues follow. When I was principal of an elementary school, we said as part of our morning procedures: ”I am respectful, responsible, safe, and prepared. I do my best work because we are here to learn.” Anytime a behavior issue arose, it almost always connected to one of those.

2. Favorite qualities in a man.

A man needs to be respectful, honest, ethical, hard-working, intelligent, and most important–have a sense of humor. The trick is to find someone whose jokes make you laugh. I’m lucky. DH cracks me up.

3. Favorite qualities in a woman.

A woman needs to be all of those plus be nurturing and patient but assertive. Do not let someone walk all over you—in any kind of relationship.

4. Your favorite heroines in fiction.

I love Molly Brown in the musical of the same name. She stood up for others and herself. I love Dana Girls Mysteries as a kid. I was an only child and I loved the idea of having a sister and especially one who was a twin. I loved those two girls. Got in and out of a bunch of stuff! As I writer, I’m curious how the author differentiated between the two. I should get hold of one of those and read it to see what I think now. J

5. Your favorite motto.

“Skill to do comes of doing.” Ralph Waldo Emerson’s statement fits with my background in theatre. You can talk and talk to the actor about what he/she should do, but it only comes true when they stand up and do. You only learn to give a speech by standing and delivering. Applied Learning strategies are all about showing what you know. I might understand in my head a recipe for a special dish, but I have to be able to mix it all together properly and cook it at the right temperature to show that I know what I’m talking about.

I can read all the books in the world about writing a novel, but until I sit down and put my hands on the keys, it doesn’t happen. The skill comes from doing it over and over again.

Thanks for having my, Jo-Ann. You always have such great questions!

Buy Links

Muse it Up                  Amazon              Barnes and Noble 

Prizes!!!

Marsha will be awarding a $25 Amazon Gift Card to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour, and a $10 Amazon Gift Card to a randomly drawn host.

 An extra entry can be earned by signing up to follow her blog:

 
A Rafflecopter giveaway

NBtM_TruthBeTold_Banner

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

36 thoughts on “Truth be Told by Marsha R. West”

    1. Hey, Mary. Thanks so much for stopping by to say hi. Yes, Jo-Ann always asks interesting questions. The kind that makes us go “Huh….” I hope you’ll visit her other times. Jo-Ann always has great posts. Good luck with the contest.

      Like

    2. Hi Mary
      I feel like I get to know her better with every book of hers I read. She’s so family oriented, her stories feel like deep hugs.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Hey, Jo-Ann. It was funny that while I was filling out all the Tour questionnaires,I didn’t at first recognize this was you. It may have been after I sent them in, it dawned on my, “Hey, this is Jo-Ann!” I’m so pleased to be here as part of my wonderful Goddess Fish Promotions Tour. *You gals rock!)
    I’ll pop in during the day to chat with the lovely folks who frequent your blog. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      It was my first time signing up for blog tours and when I saw your name I grabbed it right away. I’m honored to be hosting you.
      Best Wishes always
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. Oh, my goodness! I’m your first! LOL Sorry, couldn’t resist! But I know you’ve hosted other guest authors. I’m just your first as a part of a tour. Well, I can’t say enough good things about the Goddess Fish Tour folks. It’s been smooth sailing. Kings X LOL I’ve got one more stop next Wednesday.

        Like

    1. Thanks, Jerrie, for your kind words. If folks haven’t read them, this is a great weekend to try them. Both books will be on for 99 cents to celebrate the 1 year Birthday for VERMONT ESCAPE. I’ll share button on Thursday on my blog and off and on all weekend that will make it very easy to pick these up.
      Thanks so much for stopping and commenting. Your support means so much to me. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hey, Kathryn. Yes, I truly believe if we all just acted out respecting each other more, the world would be a much better place. Never failed to help kids understand their poor choices when I had them in my office and asked, “How was this acting respectfully?” or one of those other words. It was a powerful tool. Thanks so much for stopping, Kathryn.

    Like

    1. Hey, Karen. Even Jo-Ann’s usual questions are not the usual questions! Check out some of her earlier interviews. My favorite is when she asks us, “What would you do if you were queen of the universe?” Yikes! deep thoughts. Thanks for stopping and good luck with the contest.

      Like

    1. Hey, Pat, thanks for helping out my bad memory. I thought of the song, but couldn’t remember the artist. I know, pitiful! LOL Thanks so much for stopping and commenting. Good luck with the contest.

      Like

    2. Hi Pat
      I love the image of you singing Aretha in your head while you’re at work. How cool is that. I love doing that. I even imagine I can sing like her. lol
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hey, Rita. I can’t imagine being in a relationship with a man without a sense of humor. Funny, I’m not sure I write my heroes this way. Hmmm. Something to think about. Thanks so much for stopping and commenting, good luck with the contest.

      Like

    1. Hey, bn100 (I do think we could write a cool romantic suspense about someone who uses this name. 🙂 ) Thanks so much for stopping and commenting. Good luck with the contest.

      Like

  3. Loved the interview! Sorry it took me so long to get here. Seems I was missed by my family members because my phone keeps ringing off the hook. Marsha, you are such a sweet lady! You are also a great friend. I confess, after ready all the comments, now I can’t get Althea Franklin’s song out of my head! Sock it to me baby! I wish you the BEST of luck on your new book. It sounds amazing!

    Like

  4. Ah, Diane, thanks for those super kind words, and I really appreciate you taking time to stop by. I don’t know how you juggle all your do. I think we’re going to have to get a group together to sing Aretha Franklin’s song. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

