Writing Life

Point No Point

Yes, there is a place called Point No Point.

Point No Point

No Wifi, no TV, no distractions. Point No Point. It’s near Jordan River on the west coast of  Vancouver Island.

We spent the last three days with friends in a cabin overlooking the ocean watching Orca whales breech, swells break on the rocky beach and the sun pass slowly above us to a stunning setting at the end of the day. The only thing that disturbed our peace was a young raccoon who wanted to crash our party.

So I haven’t been on my blog or elsewhere on social media, but I’ll catch up. I hope everyone else is having a great start to their summer too.

What are you up to?

17 thoughts on “Point No Point

  1. I’ve been there too. Beyond words. Simply gorgeous. I’ve been playing Pickleball in the mornings and doing massive entertaining. Either prepping or recovering from the event. Good times though!

    Like

    1. Hi Jodie
      “Beyond words,” says it perfectly. Wouldn’t it be great to do a writing retreat up thereQ
      I’ve only played pickleball with Grade 7s. Is it the same game?
      It sounds like you’re having a busy but fun time. Enjoy your company.
      Best
      Jo-Ann
      ps Have you seen the rwa2014 app? It’s fantastic.

      Like

    1. Hi Pat
      Thanks for stopping by. B.C. is amazing and Point No Point showcases the rugged west coast. It truly is fantastic. I’d love to do a writer’s retreat there.
      Hope to see you tomorrow at the picnic.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Judy
      Yes, I am feeling very lucky and content, like a cat lying in a pool of sunshine. Thanks for dropping by.
      And yes, I am going to the picnic tomorrow and I’m looking forward to catching up with you.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. In response to your question Jo-Ann, -Pickle Ball is a court game (low net, like tennis) with special paddles and a whiffle ball. It’s played indoors and out. Google USPA for videos etc. It’s a fun and strangely obsessive game. Thousands are now playing it. It’s the fastest growing sport for mature folks aka seniors in North America. The resort we visit in Arizona, has 24 courts with night lights etc. and over 600 members in the club. Maybe that’s what you played.
    And no, I haven’t seen the phone app.

    Like

    1. Wow! Pickle ball sounds like great fun. No, we played it on a baseball diamond with a tennis racket and tennis ball. I think your game sounds awesome. Must try it sometime.
      The phone app (rwa2014) is free and easy to download. Your name is the email address you use with the RWA and the password is the name of the app.
      I’m getting really excited.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Hayley
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I think it would be great to write there, but I would have to get over the jaw-dropping-in-awe stage first lol.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Point No Point sounds heavenly. I would likely have tried to feed the raccoon and been in everyone’s bad books. I’m looking forward to the picnic tomorrow and I have a square-dance club picnic Sunday. My daughter arrives on Monday so my summer is really starting to roll. See you tomorrow.

    Like

    1. Hi Helena
      So true. I called him cute and got an ear full but he was the cutest coon I’d ever seen.
      Your weekend sounds wonderful and I bet you can’t wait for your daughter to arrive.
      See you at the picnic.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I want to go to Point No Point! A writers’ retreat there sounds divine. Not sure how I’d feel about no Wifi…but not having it for a few days would probably be good for me 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you at the picnic on Saturday!

    Like

  5. What a relief, Jo-Ann. I’ve been drowning in FB & Twitter, and a long strand of emails in my MIU loop, plus babysitting some of the grands. Was feeling really bad that I’d missed your blog. This was worth waiting for. What a glorious picture. Reminds me of places on “my” (I wish!) Maine coast. There’s just nothing like the east and west coasts of our countries. (Actually, I’ve never seen the eastern coast of Canada. And I’m judging the western coast from pictures you’ve shared. But it must be very similar to the northeast and northwest coasts of the US. Anywhere but here right now. Hitting 99 with threats of the 100s over the next several days. But we missed this in June, so I’m grateful.
    Know you must be getting excited about RWA. So they have an App for the conference? Pretty cool!
    I need a few days away from SM so I can write. SM is like a potato chip to me. Once I get on there, I can’t seem to stop. LOL
    So happy for you that you got to visit this magnificent place.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks for stopping by. I can’t wait to meet you in person. But I have to say, the 99 degree weather has me scared. We had 31 celsius today and I’m melting. lol But I can’t wait for Texas.
      The RWA app is amazing. Everything at your fingertips. I’m looking forward to meeting more people in the KOD and of course the chocolate.
      Being away from wifi for a couple days was hard, and coming back to it and dealing with hours of catch-up was even harder, but it was worth it for the stolen moments of peace on the coast.
      I’ve never been to the east coast either, except New York City. Someday.
      Take care
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

