Covert Danger Pitch Card (blurb)

CDcard4202

 

I really appreciate all the comments and encouragement I received on the blog, in emails and on author loops about my pitch card design (see post here). To date, over two hundred people have viewed my work. Crowdsourcing is powerful. Thank you.

Above is the first draft of the back of my card, which will be postcard size. Below is my latest draft of the front. I keep fiddling with the font. Who knew there were so many?

What do you think?

CDcard2

Two writers reached out and offered me visual suggestions. I feel blessed.

1. From Monica Burns on Photoshop:

Monica's CD

 

2. Meanwhile E. Ayers of Ayersbooks.com offered to turn my heroine’s eyes green. Yes! It feels like Christmas.

Why do this?

A fellow writer asked me if this is required material for pitching at conferences. No, it’s not. All you need is a business card.

I created it because:

  • it makes me feel more confident
  • if I can’t remember what I wanted to say, I can read the back blurb
  • it shows I am willing and able (in my amateurish way) to promote my work

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

14 thoughts on “Covert Danger Pitch Card (blurb)”

    1. Hi Jodie
      I will google it. But the thing is that’s what spies call themselves. Hmmm. I’ll have to give it some thought.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and helping me out.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I love the whole idea of this book. Art, fashion and the Met museum with a sexy hero. Spy would work in place of spook. But I suspect an agent interested in the book won’t be put off by either.

    Like

  2. Love what you’ve done with this, Jo-Ann. The blurb is super, especially your tag line: cross between Indiana Jones and Covert Affairs. (I’m so excited CA is about to start back up). That’s dynamite marketing if you can write a book like that. I confess, “spook” tripped me up just a bit, but I’d probably leave it for brevity’s sake.
    I think this is a brilliant idea and does speak to your professionalism to the agents and anyone else you run across.
    I prefer the top cover picture (with respects to Monica Burns–never let it be said the writing community isn’t generous!). I think if you were Monica Burns, the second would work. I live for the day, my name is well known enough that it can go above the title. LOL
    Visually, it bothers me that there appears to be an extra space between the dash and the “A.” I realize that may be a font issue and the A slants in, so it’s an optical allusion, but I it bothers me. 🙂
    I love the font of your name in the blurb and the first cover. Just read something in a marketing post that said it helped to used the same font any time your name showed up.
    I’m a big believer that more heads are better than one. You’ve just illustrated that. Thanks for letting us participate. Good luck.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks so much for taking a good look at my work. I value your ideas and will consider each.
      At the moment I’m overwhelmed. People have been wonderfully generous with suggestions and tips. I think I need to sit back for a day or two and then go back to it. Otherwise I’m going to go bug-eyed looking at pixels and get no writing done.
      But I have to say, playing with images to symbolize your story is fun. What a wonderful world we live in.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      who is late responding because of Daddy’s day.

      Like

    1. Emma
      Thank you so much for this comment. It’s the kind of feedback I dream about.
      Sorry for the delay getting back to you, we had Fathers Day over here.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

