Covert Danger Picture Pitch

 

covertdanger4

This is the draft of  the front of my pitch card I put together with Adobe InDesign. What do you think?

I’d love feedback.

I started with a black background and put the lettering in blood red, but this soft grey I think looks better. I’ll post the back blurb on Friday.

Hope Monday is treating you well.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

43 thoughts on “Covert Danger Picture Pitch”

    1. Hi Pat
      Super glad you liked it. I’ll make it postcard size and have the blurb on the back.
      Thanks so much for coming by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. LOVE IT! What a great idea! I love the colouring, but like you had said you had earlier tried but didn’t like it, I would love to see something red on there….wording or something…to bring out her lipstick 🙂 My two cents. Lisa

    Like

    1. Hi Lisa
      Thanks for the warm comment. I love your idea of adding red. I’ll play with my red crayon. I’m no artist, but these programs make your ideas come to life.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Jo-Ann, I think it’s very effective. I like Lisa’s idea about adding some red – maybe for your name? Also, I’d like to see the book title moved to the right slightly so it’s not butting up against the image (which I know might mean reducing the font size and/or the image size slightly), and maybe putting the title just a little bit higher. And how about trying the “A” in your name the same size as the “J” and the “C”?

    Like

    1. Hi Susan
      Great ideas. Thank you so much. Having fresh eyes looking at it, not to mention ones with savvy really helps.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Hey, Jo-Ann. Gosh you’re talented. Love what you’re doing. You know you’re going to get as many opinions as you get responses to this, and each is just that–our opinion. So here’s mine. 🙂
    I like the title butting up against the picture. (Sorry, Susan.) Never sacrifice visibility for atmosphere. (IMHO) I looked at it and thought, “oh, how clever.”
    As to more red, you’ve got 3 colors now: black and grey and white. (I think white is not counted, but hey) I prefer the one jab of red on her lips.
    You might want to make larger the tag at the top and the series ID at bottom. (Great tag btw.)
    I do agree with Susan about enlarging the A in “ann.” When I type your name, I type Jo-Ann Carson. Seems like you’d want it that way on the cover. 🙂
    Such a great idea. You know when you sell or self-pub, you’re going to be way ahead of the game! Good job. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey Marsha
      Thanks so much for taking the time to visit and comment on my card. Every comment helps. I keep trying the ideas and seeing the ones I like and the ones that I don’t like (as much). Getting all this feedback really helps. For example I hadn’t thought of making the A in Ann larger, but it definitely looks better. If I move the title over I do have to make it a wee bit smaller. I like my tag line too.
      I think they call this crowdsourcing an idea.
      Again, thank you
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Very effective. The partial face works for me. And as mentioned, a pop of colour on the lips would be ‘fierce’. And yes, enhancing your name would make it pop.
    Well done! Should look great on the postcard size.

    Like

  5. I’m b.a..ck…. I think Susan’s right about the words abutting. Move them to the right just a smidge and could you maybe try outlining or half-outlining in red for the word danger?

    I think the post card idea is great and it gives you enough space on the back to do a blurb for your book which could be the same as the back cover blurb of the published book.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      I love the idea of outlining in red if I could just find the button. I’ll have to give Judy a call. There has to be a way. Thanks again for another great idea.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  6. I agree with many of the comments regarding colour etc. but I have to say I find the font used for the title flat and uninteresting. The tagline is clever, but needs to be more visible.

    Like

    1. Hi Anna
      Thanks for your feedback. I struggle, not being an artist, with font, because on the one hand I want the words really easy to read because I know readers don’t look at the image for long, but on the other hand I don’t want it to look homemade and plain Janey. I’ll play with it some more. I agree about the tag line, because I love it. Maybe I’ll make it bigger.
      Thanks again.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  7. Hi. Very Cool. Love all the comments too. Here are my 2 cents 🙂 I like the colours the way they are. I think adding another font colour would detract and make it too busy. Could you make the red lips brighter? or perhaps mute the rest of her? Not fully black and white…just soften the rest of the image so the lips really stand out. You could also make her blue eyes brighter… Then her lips and eyes might draw you into the mystery behind the mask. Hope you are having fun! We miss you 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Hannah
      Hope you’re feeling better. Love hearing your 2 cents. Heck, you can give me a quarter.
      I’ll see what I can do. In the original picture from shutterstock the lips are very red. Somehow they got muted. Who knows? I’m guessing when I put the grey in. My heroine’s eyes are green, which is a wee bit of a problem.
      I am having fun. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.
      I miss you guys heaps.
      hugs

      Like

  8. Hi Jo-Ann, Talented lady 🙂 I was wondering about bolding the tagline and the series wording? Also, for me the pic is a little out of proportion to the rest, maybe downsize it just a touch and then I think the words would stand out more. Good luck.
    Jacquie

    Like

    1. Aaaah Jacquie
      Thank you for the compliment. I like your bolding idea. I’ll give it a whirl. I can’t seem to change the size of the picture, not that it’s not possible, just that I can’t figure it out. I’ll play with it.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding your ideas. I value them – greatly.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  9. Well, you’ve blown me away! This is lovely, very eyecatching. I wouldn’t change the size of the photo though. By making it smaller you could lose the intricacy of the lacy mask, which is intriguing. I love the muted colour with a touch of red.

    You opening up shop as a cover artist? 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Bonnie
      Thanks for the sweet compliments. There’s something intriguing about lacy masks…and Venice.
      I’m far from opening up shop as a cover artist, but I am thinking seriously about indie-pubbing this one.
      Thanks so much for stopping by. You rock.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  10. If I was an editor or agent and saw this card, I’d want to read the book. It’s thought-provoking and draws you in. Good-luck with it…we all want to know how many requests it brings 🙂

    Like

  11. Great comments so far. A wonderful start to this design! I like the idea of the lips in red too. The photo does a great job of conveying your tag, giving me a hint that you’re writing about a younger woman whose got an elegant front and whose second life is on the wild side. So…can choosing a better font help you tell that story better? For one, you could try bolding the title font, especially since it starts to fade with the darker edge shading on the right, but I’d try a different font as Anna suggests. What about a “sexier” font – sorry to use an overused word. Maybe a serif instead of Sans Serif font? Something that hints at the spy life? I hesitate to suggest a script font, because that gets overused too, but if you spend a little time on some free font sites, you may find something that looks fresh. http://www.dafont.com is a good place to look, and you can search by both themes and by what’s new. Using italics for your tag and making it bigger might help too. You might try varying the size or boldness between your name and the title too. Small tweaks to a great start! Best of luck!

    Like

    1. Thanks Deb
      I’ll check out the font site for sure. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  12. Ooh, I love it! You are one talented lady, Jo-Ann! I rather like the grays and blacks with just a touch of red in her lipstick and the blue in her eye. Well done!

    Like

  13. What a striking image! So clever of you, Jo-Ann. I have one suggestion. Perhaps make the
    text of Single woman and Amulet trilogy a lacy old-fashioned scroll to match the feathery mask?
    It might add another dimension, perhaps (?)

    Like

    1. Hi Helena
      I like your ideas. I’m played with fonts today until my eyes screamed. But I’m determined to find ones that are just right. They do add dimension.
      Looking forward to our Chapter meeting on Saturday.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Nicolette
      Thanks for noticing my typo. I didn’t until last night. Good thing I didn’t rush to the printers. lol.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  14. This has a number of things going for it. I messaged you in Facebook with a couple of suggestions on a graphic I created to mimic your great effort here. I think it’s perfectly fine to add more color in addition to the red on the models lips which do need to be brighter. Your name should always be larger than the title. In a thumbnail you want the name to be larger than the title. They’ll see the title in the text above the thumbnail. Your name is part of your brand so consider what font you use carefully as you’ll want to continue using that font for your name as much as you can with whatever you write. Creates consistency and the branding is very important. Times Roman is generally a good font to use if you have text. It’s legible and if you limit the text you’ll do well with it. You can increase font size with just one or two letters to create a different effect. Also, I’d drop the trilogy info. It’s listed in the series notation for vendors and you can also add it to the blurb. Don’t worry about adding it to the cover. JM2CW Take it with a grain of salt

    Like

    1. Monica
      I missed your comment on FB. Thanks so much for all these details. I love your idea of creating one look for my name and sticking with it. Your other points sound right on as well. I really appreciate this.
      Best
      Jo-Ann
      who is heading back to my InDesign board

      Like

      1. If I could pitch over the computer (with the same reach) my backward tendencies might stay out of my way, *stressing the word might here. 😉 I have been working on just talking to strangers on the internet, something we are told to avoid as children, but if they want to pass out cyber candy, I have decided to ignore my SOP of quiet and shy. hopefully by my first conference I will be brass and bold. lol. Did I mention that I prefer fantasy to reality? happy writing, tracey

        Like

Leave a Reply

