Is it in the Cards?

star

Repeating a safety mantra in my head and feeling the soft weight of the cross around my neck,  I forced my feet into her ‘lair’.

I’ve always been drawn to Tarot cards and from time to time shuffle them about and try to make sense of their images. In that struggle I find meaning. In the stories I write, Tarot cards, tea leaf readings and the I Ching  ‘turn up’ as divination tools to guide my characters. I blame it on my muse.

No bats attacked me. Not even a dust bunny.

So last Wednesday, I decided to get my first formal Tarot reading. I reasoned that for all I really knew, my quiet conversations with rectangular pieces of cardboard were meaningless. They could simply be upside down, cockeyed dialogues with myself, which let me hear only what I wanted to hear. Nothing more than a figure of my imagination.

Incense stung my nose. 

Ushered into a tiny cluttered room that must have been intended as a closet, I sat down. She closed the door.

19-the-sunNo weird music or lighting. No spiders.

Along the side wall a narrow altar held decks of cards and other things, but for the life of me, I ‘m not sure what.

The altar looked more like a storage shelf that a religious tool for human sacrifice.

I got busy trying to assess my reader who had large round eyes.

Compassionate eyes…knowing eyes. Probed mine.

She asked me to shuffle the cards.

And began with the Celtic cross spread.

“You will be taking a trip…”

My gut tingled.

I am going to take a trip, an important trip.

“You will meet an important person…”

Okay, everyone wants to do that. But when she spoke those words I had a sense that it would really happen.

It’s in my cards.

Then she fanned the cards and had me choose three. Then she fanned them again. Each time the cards added onto the first reading.

You can say it’s all woo woo stuff, but I leave you with this empirical fact. There are 78 Tarot cards. Two cards, The Star and The Sun showed up three times. Chance? I don’t think so. (Besides, they’re happy cards, so I’m going to believe in them.)

What about you? Do you like Tarot cards? Have any interesting stories to share?

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

19 thoughts on “Is it in the Cards?”

    1. Morning JC
      I’m thinking about it.
      Here’s the ‘thing’. First, there’s what she read from them, and second, what I additionally read into them and third, what with some time and meditation on ‘the reading’ I came to think it meant. Most of the other cards have since faded away. And they are needed to give a full picture. Funny that.
      I don’t know if my detailed reading would interest others anyway, and it cuts to the bone, as all good readings do.
      I think I’ll leave it with, “I will be taking a trip… and meeting an important person…”.
      lol
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      hugs

      Like

    1. Hi Jacquie
      Thanks I’m glad you enjoyed it and even gladder that you stopped by to visit. Every fall a group of us from the chapter go to get our tea leaves read, so if you’d like to dabble in tea and your future let us know. It’s fun.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I am more in tune with astrology, but for some reason one of my characters is a tarot reader so I got at deck and Tarot for Dummies and spent some time with the deck. For a couple of months I drew one card a day, my reading for the day, in an attempt to understand the cards better.( I should start that again. A little meditation at the beginning of each writing day.) Figuring out the cards in my character’s reading was fun, working backwards from what I wanted the reading to mean to what cards I’d need to say it.
    Why it showed up in my story I really can’t say…

    Like

    1. Hi Judy
      To determine my ‘signifyer’ card she asked me my birth date, so she used that lens as well.
      The reader had been used the cards in a professional capacity to help people. I think they are useful for filling out parts of us that may otherwise stay hidden.
      And who can argue with her muse?
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Hey, Jo-Ann. I’m a bit surprised you dabble this way. Perhaps more than dabble. LOL I’ve had my cards read once at some sort of fundraiser. Think she was pretty good, though because it was quite a few years ago, I don’t remember specifics other than I thought she seemed to be right on. Of course, as you say, half of the process is what we put into her words. I think most of us would like to find guidance somewhere. Otherwise we have no one but ourselves to blame for what happens. LOL You know our choices. I’ll FB and Tweet this. Very interesitng.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks for all the SOs. I know the tarot is not your thing, but you’re still there supporting me. You rock as a writing buddy.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I have done Tarot readings for myself and my family for years, JoAnn. (I’m also a professional astrologer.) The best advice I ever read from a teacher was the client should do more than half of the talking during a reading. Did the reader ask you questions and draw you out?

    Like

    1. Ana
      Yes she did, which at the time confused me. I didn’t realize that it’s more a conversation than a reading. Thanks for that feedback.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Emma
      I hope you find some time to enjoy them. I think the images are beautiful.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I’ve never had my cards read but I’m always intrigued by the Tarot. One day I’ll have to take the plunge like you, Jo-Ann, and see what’s in the cards for me 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Jacqui
      I always worry that asking about the future somehow muddies it. But the whole process is intriguing. Thanks for stopping by and commenting Jacqui.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. I totally get what you mean, Jo-Ann, about all the layers in a reading. And repetition is always intriguing. Even when it happens in daily life. When you see the same word again and again in the space of a few hours. Makes me think something inside me is trying to talk to me and I should listen.

    Like

    1. Hi Shereen
      Thanks for stopping by and adding your comment. I definitely think messages come to us in different ways.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  6. Oh my. I really loved this post and I think I had to ponder what you said for quite a few days. My readings have been very powerful and very personal. They startled me to the core. They were so accurate.
    I have utilized the Tarot in all four of my Girlfriends’ Series and they are very important to Rachel (the teen heroine) and also to me. King of Wands, my third YA book, is of course a Tarot card, and that card drives the plot in the book.
    Love the Tarot. Glad that you embraced it. You will return to it, I am sure.

    Like

    1. Hi Jodie
      Thanks for the complement and taking the time to add to the conversation. I love seeing the cards turn up in stories. They give a resonance to the whole plot.
      I will definitely be looking more deeply into the “tradition”.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

