A Perfect Saturday Outing

View from the TrattoriaWe were ‘socked in’ as we say on the wet west coast with steady drizzle, which turned immediately to rain as soon as we opened a door. None the less, we had a wonderful road trip to Coombs, a funky little town in the middle of Vancouver Island where you can buy just about anything and eat too. They are famous for having goats on the roof of the big store.

goatcamimg

Unfortunately, we didn’t see the goats this time. They were hiding from the elements, but this is a picture of one of them we took on another visit. There’s something endearing about goats. Don’t you think?

Our goal was to find a burning barrel. One of the good things about living on a Gulf Island is that you can still burn things. We stopped at a recycling business, which fascinates me. They have everything from kitchen sicks to…nuts and bolts. In front of where we parked sat a four-foot tall fire hydrant circa 1912 that I immediately fell in love with, but I refrained from buying it because I have no place to put it and my dog is dead, so really no reason to own it. Whenever we visit this place my imagination goes wild thinking of the funky little houses I could build with the stained glass windows, ornate iron work, claw footed bath tubs, and ornate doors created in another century. Images of the shacks built in the late seventies on Hippy Hill on the Haida Gwaii come to mind. Functional and unique.

Next, we went for coffee in the Trattoria and sat beside the picture window you can see above. The taste of their pizza brought back fond memories of Italy. Delicious.

Then we went to the used bookstore. Coombs has the best used bookstore I’ve ever been in, Cozy Corner Books. It doesn’t smell. It has everything. And the staff is knowledgeable. I wanted to browse for one pocketbook, then I looked beyond that…then… I hit gold. I’ve been wanting to invest in reference books on world mythology and mysticism and I found the exact books I wanted. OMG. Happy Dance time. They were greatly reduced in price from the originals and I got them at half price because I had store credit from bringing in books. (Yes, I’m still downsizing). Total $36.00!

41YJnNaeppL._AA160_Here’s one of them: The Secret Teachings of all Ages by Manly P. Hall

“In all cities of the ancient world were temples for public worship and offering. In every community also were philosophers and mystics deeply versed in Nature’s lore. ” p. 1

I’ve just finished skimming all 600 pages. Don’t ask me for details, but I’ve got a good idea of what’s in it– a treasure-trove of detail about mystic traditions from around the world. Love it.

mythI also picked up Larousse’s World Mythology, and Joseph Campbell’s  Historical Atlas. PJ found a boring book on stepping sailing masts, but he’s happy. It was like Christmas in May.cambell

Finally, we went into the general store, which is just too hard to describe, because they really have everything there. We bought our favorite cocoa from Holland, boxes of Granola for two dollars and a hat for PJ to wear when he mows the lawn.

I love unplanned road trips with PJ. I never know what’s around the corner. It was truly a great day. I hope your weekend was as much fun.

IMG_20140504_130340 (1)
The $9. hat

 

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “A Perfect Saturday Outing”

    1. Hi Pat
      It was one of those special Vancouver Island adventures. Thanks for visiting. Hope your back is feeling better.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. What a great day you had! Mine was unique in a different way. I went to Qualicum Beach’s ‘Fire and Ice’. It had drizzly rain also, but for a small donation you received an I.D. bracelet and a plastic spoon. Then you were free to wander the length of Second St. and sample dixie cups of chili from about two dozen vendors, while you admired ice sculptures, created before your eyes by chain-saw wielding artists. The chili’s were created to be memorable, e.g. root beer chili topped with whipped cream and sea salt, or vegetarian chili (my favourite), Gluten-free chili, etc. etc. Eventually the soggy wet day had me searching for hot tea in a warm dry café, but I’ll be back next year. Maybe the sun will be out.

    Like

    1. Helena
      I love your story. Next year give us a call. It sounds like a great event. The Island has so many nooks and crannies to explore…so many adventures. I’m glad you had a good weekend.
      Thanks for visiting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Saturday, I babysat my granddaughter. She wanted to go outside onto the deck. Since it was covered and we’d be there only for a moment, I didn’t put a hat on her. The wind came up and blew her hair. She laughed and turned her back so her hair would blow another way. Nothing better than the spontaneous delights of the day!
    Pat

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      Well said. You captured one of those perfect moments.
      Thanks for visiting and sharing your Saturday.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

