Lay Lady Lay…

pooh

I drove JC, my critique partner, crazy this week with one little verb. She’s also my daughter, so it’s okay. In fact, it felt good to rankle her spirits. Kind of like an act of ‘getting back’ at her for once having had the audacity to be a teenager <g>.

The verb is lay. And it is a tricky little monster, let me tell you.

It all started when I wrote that my hero, “laid down on the bed.”

Her response: “Not sure if this is lay down or laid down. But I suggest taking the “down” out to eliminate the repetition.”

My hero stays on the bed nursing his swollen eye with ice and putting pressure on his bleeding lip. Her next comment:

“And then ‘He laid on the bed’ doesn’t sound right. So I think it should be “He lay on the bed.” Or if you want to keep the down part in, “He lay down on the bed”

A little further down, I knew I’d really gotten under her skin. She wrote:

“Present tense is lie, Past is lay, Past past is laid, I think…”

Clearly she Googled it. The story went on and I found another use for the lovely verb lay.

She wrote: “You’re killing me! (with the lays and laids).”

By this point I’m cracking up laughing. That’s what it’s like when your cp is your daughter and she has a wicked sense of humor. I won’t even talk about swapping intimate scenes. lol

It’s fun to know I can still annoy my children.

How about you? Have you ever driven your cp crazy? How about your daughter?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

22 thoughts on “Lay Lady Lay…”

    1. Hi Marsha
      It is rather daring isn’t it.
      But I love the alteration in the title. lol.
      Thanks for stopping by and SOut
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi JC
      I did. By that point I was laughing so hard I had to cross my legs. Your wicked sense of humour really shines in your editing. Love it.
      Hugs.
      J

      Like

  1. I do it with the tech stuff. He’s usually pretty patient but sometimes I can just see him thinking – how can she not know that- everyone knows THAT! Um, wrong. I’m pretty sure that’s how come he came up with the idea to create a platform that anyone (even me) can quickly and easily turn a book into an epub that will go on Amazon or any other platform and look GOOD.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      I think it’s so awesome that you’ve inspired him to develop a user friendly e-pub platform. So it’s okay if he thinks you’re missing a few connections in your understanding of all things digital. I know you’re one wise Momma.
      Thanks for stopping by and keep us informed with his progess.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I know I’ve driven critique partners crazy, but not with lay and laid. I’ve irritated some students with it, though.

    Like

    1. Hi Kathy
      It is a hard one and I think it’s because we see it used improperly so much.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I once used layed and that really got my editor. It looked fine to me :-))) Good thing that J.C. is such a darlin’ to put up with your quirky sense of fun, Jo-Anne but then again she’s lucky you didn’t lay down the law with her more when she was little…LOL

    Like

    1. Hi Mimi
      Lol. Rolling on the floor. Soooo Mimi. ‘Layed’ – love it. You are so funny.
      Thanks for stopping by and making me giggle.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Judy
      I love the song too, so it was great to have an excuse to feature it. I have a tendency to write ‘laid’, but clearly I need to change my habits. lol. Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I think it would be very cool to have a daughter and/or a mom who was a critique partner & fellow author. I can also imagine how it might drive one a little bonkers. After reading your blog I can now REALLY imagine how it might drive one a whole lot bonkers 🙂 Maybe it would be better if your daughter/mom was an editor working for Harlequin…

    Like

    1. Hi Jacqui
      That would be nice, but I have to say I absolutely love having JC as my cp. She’s got a great eye for story, is wicked with grammar and keeps me laughing. Thanks so much for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

