A Kiss is Still a Kiss

U.S. Navy sailor Glenn Edward McDuffie kisses a nurse in Times Square in an impromptu moment at the close of World War Two, after the surrender of Japan was announced in New York August 14, 1945. (REUTERS/Victor Jorgensen/US Navy/Handout via Reuters)
U.S. Navy sailor Glenn Edward McDuffie kisses a nurse in Times Square in an impromptu moment at the close of World War Two, after the surrender of Japan was announced in New York August 14, 1945. (REUTERS/Victor Jorgensen/US Navy/Handout via Reuters)

Glenn Edward McDuffie passed away this weekend, and his kiss once again flooded the media. It’s a kiss that stops people and makes them think…makes them feel. The story behind it surprised me. I had always assumed it was his girlfriend he was kissing, but it wasn’t. He said:

” ‘When I got off from the subway, a lady told me the war was over, and I went into the street yelling. I saw the nurse and she was smiling at me, so I just grabbed her,’ he said.” (Vancouver Sun, March 15, 2014)

In the famous photo, everyone on the street is drawn by their passon. A moment of intense feeling caught on film. A perfect kiss. I don’t believe there’s a woman alive who hasn’t fantasized about being kissed like that.

Kisses are wonderful wonderful things. They can be sweet or saucy, stolen or given, gentle or firm, soft or harsh…but they are almost always perfect in their own way.

I remember the first time my man kissed me like it was yesterday. I can taste it on my lips, a connection embedded deep in memory.

“Play it again Sam.”

Your turn. Any kissing comments?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

16 thoughts on “A Kiss is Still a Kiss”

    1. Hi Jacquie
      I bet she didn’t. It took them a long time to figure out who the couple was. I wonder if she ever wanted to contact him.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. And wouldn’t that be the start of a great romance novel or movie? That kiss between strangers, then they go their ways, but neither can forget. And so they start looking for each other, maybe from different corners of the world…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Susan
      Ooooooh yeah, I agree an unforgettable kiss between strangers would be a great way to start a story.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I always wondered about this picture because of the nurse’s hand…her hand is clenched and she’s not touching him in return. To me this body language says something, but I’m just not sure EXACTLY what it says. Would love to know her thoughts about this kiss. Failing that, we authors have to make up the story 🙂 Makes me realize that looking through pictures could be a good way to find inspiration to start a story or find a way through a difficult plot point. I’m going to try this soon! Thanks for the inspiration, Jo-Ann!

    Like

    1. Hi Jacqui
      Welcome home. We’ve all missed you. Thanks for taking the time to visit.
      I agree using photos would be a cool way to start a writing project. I hadn’t noticed her clenched hand until I read a critics comment about it. I always got swept up in his passion. But the hand does say a lot. I’m glad it inspired you.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Reggi
      I agree.
      Apparently for years people came forward and said it was them. Love the mystery and the passion.
      I can’t help but think, however, that if a man kissed me like that I’d get his name. lol.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Hey, Jo-Ann. We’ve had another blast of winter and this kiss sure does warm things up. Love Susan’s idea for a story! I don’t remember hearing that any woman ever stepped up to claim it was she. Also an intriguing part to the story. Leave it to you to come up with this lovely post for romance writers and to honor all those who served. I’ll FB and Tweet.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Yes, I think kissing is one of my favorite winter activities. lol
      I found a You Tube clip where a woman claims to be “the one” but she didn’t convince me. Perhaps it was because she was promoting an event at the time. But after many men said they were “the guy” over the years McDuffie got the photographer’s approval.
      Thanks for your high praise btw. You’re so darn nice.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I don’t remember where maybe 60 Minutes did an interview and I think they tracked the actual nurse down. There was something that they knew that would allow them to know if it was really her. It’s been a while back but I think both people were on there.

    Like

    1. Hi C.K.
      Searching around, I heard that they did a facial recognition test on the two, but I can’t say that a lot of their faces were showing. lol. A powerful moment at any rate.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

