Almost Ready to Give my Workshop

IMG_20140222_201928On Saturday I’m giving a workshop (on giving a workshop – WoW). You can see the details here.

Right now I’m navigating the final bumpy stretch.

For me it comes down to a check-list:

1. What will I wear?

Shall I look professional or comfortable? I tried on the power dress I had from back in the day, but it didn’t fit. hmm. I’m going with my dragonfly blouse and dark pants.

2. How much do I want that piece of music?

I have a funny music clip for the middle of my presentation, but my computer has is warning me that it’s not safe. It didn’t do that a week ago. Ugh.

I’ve searched around the Internet. I’m not sure how to find a safer version. I’d gladly pay a small price. Any suggestions on this would be appreciated.

At the moment I’m practicing without the music, but will use it on that day. Just for a few seconds. How much can that hurt? Images of viruses cloud my mind.

3. A pain in my butt

Literally. I not so wisely chose to pull a cart over the snow last week and my back is not happy. Why does this have to happen now?

4. oops I hit the publish button before I’d finished writing this post. Oh dear. Maybe I’ll continue another day. Sorry about that. Guess it says something about me being nervous.

Your turn. What are the little things you think of before you make presentations?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

17 thoughts on “Almost Ready to Give my Workshop”

  1. LOL You have me in stitches, Jo-Ann. Wish I could be there. Obviously too far, but maybe when you do this again, you can give more notice and I can make a flying visit. Would be so fun.
    Interesting that we both have presentations in our future. The stars must be aligned.
    Here’s my advice. Don’t take a chance with the music. Do you have Pandora? You could play the music on your cell and record it that way. Type in “music like XXXX” whatever the name is. Even if you don’t turn up that particular piece, you’ll probably find something else that will work. I’m pretty certain you could record it while playing. DH had Pandora playing on our trip while looking at the map on the cell. It’s all pretty amazing.
    Next, take some Aleve (sp.) for your back. Normally, I’d say Ibuprophen, but “they’ve” now said Aleve is better for pain with out so many side affects. (At least that’s the most recent study. :))
    Now, I’m off to buy some wine and pick up chicken for supper so I’m back in plenty of time for the radio show this evening. I’m not at all nervous! Right! Not!
    Have someone take pictures and maybe record. Would love to see you do this. You’ll knock ’em dead. ( I don’t know how that ever came to mean, the audience will love you, because, of course that’s what I mean.) πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks for all the advice. I’ll try the drugs for sure and I’ll look up Pandora.
      It’s funny that we’re both going to be “out there”. I’ve given workshops before but never to writers. I’ve never done anything on radio. I hope you write about your experience. I’ll be thinking about you.
      Thanks for coming by.
      And best of luck tonight.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I think your warm personality will carry the day, no matter what you teach πŸ™‚
    I agree with Marsha, just have fun, easy for me to say from the other side of the table hey
    If you have ITunes you could probably find the song you’re after there, or what about U-Tube?

    Like

    1. aaah Jacquie
      What a nice thing to say. Thank you.
      I don’t know my way around I tunes, but I may play with U-Tube.
      Thanks for the suggestions.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. As mentioned by Jacquie (sp?) your personality will shine through putting us at ease. Wear your comfortable clothes, then you don’t have to think about them. Record the music before hand so you don’t risk a virus. And I feel your pain. I’m off work and have promised my physio not to do any writing today(this doesn’t count) because I saw something that needed fixing in my yoga video so did a quick editing job hunched over on my bed just before going to bed (30-45 minutes tops) Hello T3’s and muscle relaxants. And yes, the irony was noted.

    Like

    1. Oh Pat
      You are so funny. Messing up your T3s while working on yoga. You have to put that one in a story, but then we may not believe it possible. lol. Thanks for your kind words.
      I’m using Power Point, so I’m not sure how to do a recording first, but I’ll play around with it.
      Looking forward to seeing you.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I’m sorry I won’t be there, Jo-Ann. but you listed no. 4. and then didn’t write anything there! Where’s no. 4? I’m missing out, I just know I am. Sylvia πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Sylvia
      I will miss you.
      #4…To be honest, I’m not sure. My intention was to write a post about how I felt T-2 days. I thought it important to detail the big and little things. When I got to number four I accidentally hit the publish button, which may sound odd, but I was working on the small screen of my laptop and I am used to working on a large screen. Anyway…the button was pushed and I decided that maybe I had said all I really needed to say. I am ready, but I am not perfectly ready…and as always I am nervous.
      So there is no number 4.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. Oh Jo-Ann. I feel for you. I have not given many presentations and I get nervous before an audience. I would wear some sort of power suit and write everything out ahead of time. Then I’d be too stressed to remember it. But that’s me. You will be just fine.Your warmth and sense of humour will pull us in to your talk. We won’t want you to stop.

    Like

    1. Hi Helena
      Thanks for stopping by and cheering me on. I think we will have fun. At least that is what I am telling myself.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

