My Workshop on Workshops

My blurb:

WoW –  Workshop on Workshops

Why do some workshops leave you excited about writing, while others cripple you with a migraine? What can you do as a leader to inspire others with your passion? There is no app that magically transforms writers into dynamic speakers, but there are “tricks of the trade.”

In this session we will examine “best practices,” teaching strategies based on brain research that inspire and motivate learners, and deepen understanding. We will focus on three areas:

  • Structuring information
  • Use of graphic organizers
  • Use of audio-visuals

There will be lots of discussion about interactive activities, and we will be “learning by doing.” If you have any ideas for a workshop you’d like to develop, bring them along. Also, please, bring paper, pens and pencil crayons. We will be tapping our imagination and creativity to create exciting learning events for writers.

Jo-Ann Terpstra, B.A. (Eng), M.Ed.

When/Where: 

March 8, Nanaimo Downtown library, 1:00p.m. free admission, sponsored by VIC-RWA

Why?:

I belong to a wonderful writing chapter (VIC-RWA) that has greatly enriched my life as a writer. I want to give back.

IMG_20140222_201928Am I crazy?

Quite possibly. Show me a writer who isn’t. But it’s fun pulling my ideas together. More about that another day.

Your turn. I’ve never given a workshop to writers before. Any horror stories?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

22 thoughts on “My Workshop on Workshops”

    1. Hi Hannah
      Thanks for stopping by. My twitter handle is Jo_AnnCarson. It should be on my blog. I’ll check it out. Maybe the “button” dropped off. Thanks for sharing.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. My workshops are all on-line 🙂 but I did have a moment when a student found an answer I didn’t have and enlightened me … I thanked her profusely and was most thankful the others in the class took it in stride 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Kathryn
      Ooooh now I’m going to wander over and look at your courses. I like how you handled your well-informed student. I found twelve year-olds kept me humble.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. This makes me think of when my mother was writing a booklet on How To Give a Speech. When you’re demonstrating something you’re trying to teach at the same time, the lines blur I think.
    I do love that your doing this show and tell, Jo-Ann. I’m sure your years of teaching will stand you in good stead (cliche alert!). Frankly, just because you can do something doesn’t mean you can teach it. Writing is a solitary, internal activity. Speaking (just that part, not the AV stuff) is really a stretch for some writers.
    Now having said that, how did we learn to write? By writing. The only way to learn to give a good presentation is to practice, practice, practice, and get up and speak at every opportunity.
    With your summary and organizational skills, you’re going to have them leaping to their feet in applause. (The last phrase was an attempt to not use the cliche, “knock them dead.” I don’t think it came off as well as the cliche! LOL) I’ll be eager to hear how it wall goes.
    I’ve never presented on writing to a bunch of writers. Think I’d be good, but can’t figure what I’m good at enough in this thing we call writing to present on.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Your mother was quite a role-model.
      Thanks for all your supportive comments. The way this all came about is that one of our presenters asked for feedback. She asked three times, so I thought I’d give her some, and sent her an email. My ideas were well-received and she suggested that I do this workshop. I thought it would be easy. lol
      Let’s just say it’s challenging.
      I think you would be awesome at presenting this kind of workshop as well as one on an aspect of writing. Critique groups, building suspense, likable heroines… I can think of a lot of topics I’d like to take a workshop from you on.
      Anyway…back to the keyboard.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Jacquie
      Now I really want to see it. lol. Can’t wait to read your first book.Congratulations again on doing so well in the contest.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. So this won’t be a virtual workshop, right Jo-Anne? (Available on line?) Just checking as we would love to attend. We’ve had quite a few speaking engagements this year & would most definitely be into something that helps with that. Please let me know if your planning on doing anything on line. Great post, great information, sharing now!! 😉

    Like

    1. Hi ladies
      The workshop won’t be on-line. I would have loved for to have joined us. If I do decide to put it up in some form I’ll be sure to let you know. Thanks so much for your interest.
      And good luck with your speaking engagements. How exciting!
      Best Wishes always
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

