Do you like your murders cozy?

Here is a hilarious discussion about Cozy Mysteries

“Cozy mysteries, also referred to simply as “cozies,” are a subgenre of crime fiction in which sex and violence are downplayed or treated humorously, and the crime and detection take place in a small, socially intimate community. The term was first coined in the late 20th century when various writers produced work in an attempt to re-create the Golden Age of Detective Fiction” (Wikipedia)

I love the discussion in the You Tube Clip above. As Craig Ferguson says a cozy mystery, “… sounds quite sexy.”

I confess I am pulled by the genre, because:

1. You know you know who did it, but you don’t know who did it. This intrigues me from the opening to the end.

2. All the characters are regular folk (Think: Murder She Wrote). They’re like your neighbors, except one of them is dead and another one is a murderer. When you place the most heinous of crimes – murder – in the middle of an ordinary group of people it exaggerates it in wonderfully dark ways, making the murder more despicable, more abhorrent… more evil. And above all more scary.

3. I always think I have a chance of figuring out who-done-it. The stories don’t just entertain me, they challenge me. I become a detective.

My favorite old-time cozy mystery writer is Agatha Christie. I have fond memories of reading her stories as the wind howled outside in the wilderness of the Haida Gwaii. Her stories made me want to write mysteries. Heck, I’ll be honest, her plots make me drool.

My current cozy mystery fave is Cleo Coyle (Coffeehouse mysteries). The books are written by a husband and wife team. They’re funny, devious and full of coffee trivia. What more could I ask for? When I’m tired they comfort me like a well-worn quilt.

Over all, I consider myself to be an eclectic reader, but I like to slide into the world of a cozy at least once a month.

 Your turn. Do you like Cozy Mysteries? Which authors do you read?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

19 thoughts on “Do you like your murders cozy?”

  1. Hey, Jo-Ann. I do enjoy an occasional cozy. To be honest they do go a tad slow for my taste, but there is much I enjoy in them. The small towns, the quirky people, the descriptions, and sometimes the recipes that come along. I have a couple of authors I enjoy. Wendy Lyn Watson writes a series about a woman who owns an ice cream store. Trust me, your mouth waters, and it’s almost impossible to not go get a scoop of ice cream. Her books are all delightful. Another author is Susan Bernhardt. Her fist book is The Ginseng Conspiracy. Great descriptions and wonderful eating and cooking. It’s always interesting to see how the authors work things out. Oh, and Molly Cannon has three delightful mysteries you’ll want to check out. 🙂 Let me know what you think of these authors after you’ve checked them out.

    Like

    1. Whoah Marsha
      This is awesome. Three new authors for me to dabble in. Like you, I prefer faster paced novels, and I’m beginning to think we have the same taste in books, so getting these recommendations is…awesome. I think I’ll start with The Ginseng Co because the title intrigues me, and I’ll let you know what I think. MMMmmmm…but it is hard to put the ice cream off. What fun.
      Thanks so much for stopping by, adding to the conversation and my bookshelf and your wonderful promos. You rock girl friend.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. I will. I downloaded The Ginseng Company by Susan Bernhardt. It takes place in a patisserie. Ooh la la. I’m drooling already. Thanks Marsha.

        Like

    1. Hi Jacquie
      Like Marsha below, I’d never survive on a diet of only cozies, but sometimes they just hit the spot. I like to read them when it’s stormy outside. Thanks for stopping by commenting and promoting.
      It was great to finally chat with you on Saturday.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I loved that interview! I must admit that I find the term cozy mystery to be a bit unnerving. And not just on a personal level. Try explaining that you write cozy mysteries.

    ‘But what’s cozy about murder?’

    Thankfully I can now just direct them to your blog! And I shall have to check out the Coffee House Mysteries. They sound fabulous.

    Like

    1. Oh Pat
      I love your sense of humor. You are so right. It’s impossible to explain how your murder happens to be cozy. lol.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I used to watch Murder She Wrote, but the only cosy mysteries I remember reading were by L.R. Wright. I lived in Kamloops and longed for the sea. Her mysteries were all set in small seaside communities on the Sunshine Coast. The main characters were Cassandra, a librarian, and Karl, an RCMP officer. I think one book began with the words, “She was propped up against a tree, her hair combed, her face washed and her throat cut…” The fact that I worked in a library, also, may have had something to do with it 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Helena
      I love L.R. Wright’s series too. She did such a wonderful job of planting murders on our beautiful coast. I can see how being a librarian would make her plots even more interesting to you. I certainly liked her cop-hero.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I do enjoy cozy’s, but more the historical cozy’s with great unstoppable female sleuths, like Elizabeth Peters indomitable Amelia Peabody, and more recently the award winning books by Canadian, Alan Bradley with his brilliant young heroine, Flavia de Lucia. Both excellent character names as well.

    Like

    1. Hi Judy
      I have to add books from both authors to my reading list. I did read the beginning of one of Bradley’s books. Flavia de Lucia is an amazing character, complex and yet so believable. Thanks for stopping by and adding to the comments.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. I do like a good cozy mystery. Agatha was my first favorite. I think some of the lure is that they make your tea and biscuits just a little bit dangerous. Could one of those short breads be poisoned, I wonder? And what if the murderer is playing psychological games with me and it’s not the one closest to me on the bone china?

    Like

    1. Oh Natasha
      I love your line, “…they make your tea and biscuits just a little bit dangerous.” Great line. And how true. Do you write cozies?
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

