Starry Starry Night and Other Stories

IMG_20140205_192915~2

Starry Night painted by my six year old granddaughter.

I’ve spent the last week visiting with two of my grandchildren. Here are a few of my stories:

The Engineer of Hearts

IMG_20140206_141540Four year old, CJ’s blue eyes widened as he watched his big sister make hearts out of folded paper. Pure magic. Carefully he chose colored paper, and with the concentration befitting a brain surgeon he cut his own big hearts.  He says the word big with great emphasis, like he’s describing a dinosaur. He held his breath every time the scissors closed on the paper and let out a little yelp when he completed each one.

His sister wrote poems on her hearts. He dug out a stapler and built a long train to surround his bed. C.J. – the Engineer of Hearts.

It’s Elect-tricksy you Know

As I drank my morning coffee, bright-eyed CJ explained how the remote control worked for his truck. I gather it has to do with elect-tricksy which flows through the string. Not bad. I wasn’t about to teach him  how to say it right. His passion for knowledge warmed my tired brain.

It’s all About the Hearts

Six year old CR loves everything about life, and expresses her joy in art. She made piles of colorful hearts for her friends. She made a special one for Oma and Opa and wrote:

Roses are red

Violets are blue

Carnations are sweet

And so are you

I love children. They humble me and make me feel real.

Your turn. Any favorite kid stories?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “Starry Starry Night and Other Stories”

    1. Hi Pat
      It’s been such a sweet weak. Your time will come, and when it does I want to hear all the stories.
      Are you coming to the Russell Books event on Tuesday btw?
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Hey, Jo-Ann. I totally agree, grandkids are a natural wonder.Those of us fortunate to leave near ours are doubly blesed My favorite story (as of now) is with my youngest. We were at her mother’s new Pilates studio. Her aunt and cousins were there with her mom, Grandad, and Mimi. She was with her father and hadn’t arrived. We’re chatting and oohing and ahhing over the studio when the door opened. Grand 3 burst through took a little hop with her arms and legs spread wide and said, “I’m here!” We all just fell over laughing. It was like now the party can start. I’m sure her parents will tell this story on her when they meet her future spouse.
    Your grands are very artistic! I’m impressed with the cutting of the 4-year old and picture of the 6 -year-old!

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      “I’m here,” she said. I love it. So wonderfully child like. She’ll be something to watch as she grows up.
      It’s so wonderful being a grandma.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

