Two Interesting Quotes on a Monday Morning

worried 001

About the Myth of Overnight Success

From the cartoonist behind Calvin and Hobbes:

“…there is no such thing as an overnight success. You will do well to cultivate the resources in yourself that bring you happiness outside of success or failure. The truth is, most of us discover where we are headed when we arrive. At that time, we turn around and say, yes, this is obviously where I was going all along. It’s a good idea to try to enjoy the scenery on the detours, because you’ll probably take a few.

…To endure five years of rejection to get a job requires either a faith in oneself that borders on delusion, or a love of the work. I loved the work.

Drawing comic strips for five years without pay drove home the point that the fun of cartooning wasn’t in the money; it was in the work. This turned out to be an important realization when my break finally came.”

(May 20, 1990 Advice on Life and Creative Integrity from Calvin and Hobbes creator Bill Watterson, Brain Pickings)

An Interesting Quote about the Ever-Changing Publishing World:

“Amazon’s recently released statistics are no doubt causing gray hairs to sprout all over the heads of print publishers. Why?
For one thing, 200,000 additional authors decided to sell their books exclusively on Amazon through their KDP Select program. Not all of these authors will reach the sales of the top 150, but even if each author sold a few hundred books in 2013, Amazon made quite a profit.
Success, for Amazon, is not measured by how many best-selling authors they produce, but by how many authors decide to throw their hats into Amazon’s ring.Of course, another reason for CEOs to go gray is the exodus of well-known authors who have decided that they would rather get a greater chunk of the profits their books generate than whatever percentage their publishers mete out to them. In some cases, this amounts to millions of dollars in royalties that would otherwise have gone to publishing houses.” (Publishing and Other Forms of Insanity, Jan. 6, 2014)
Monday Check-in
It’s been a great morning for me. I typed up my goal sheet and started revising the first draft of a novel I’ve been working on. After three months of creating the story out of thin air, it’s great fun to be reworking words I’ve already put on the page. Of course some of it, okay, a lot of it, okay, maybe all of it sucks, but still the words on the page are like kindling for a better fire and I’m having fun.  I hope you’re all enjoying your lives.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

14 thoughts on “Two Interesting Quotes on a Monday Morning”

  1. “The truth is, most of us discover where we are headed when we arrive.” Love that, so true. If you let it, life can be one big adventure. I’m happy to say I’m enjoying the ride. 🙂

    Like

  2. Trying to be efficient and get things done and get ready for a trip next week, I decided to go with the new microsoft office 365, get into the 21st century and get into the cloud. I went through the buying process only to find computer #1 (You get it on 5) is only xp and office365 doesn’t work on xp, or vista (computer # 2) and computer # three, which really needed word, is too small and slow to handle it and kept crashing. So I spent another half hour (not too bad in retrospect ) getting a refund with some guy in – somewhere – who kept asking me if I was related to a Hudson who was a race car driver in the 1950’s and if my husband had an English accent! That’s what i get for being so out of date, but most of it is working fine for me ( I won’t go into what you have to do to upgrade from xp to windows 7 or 8 – empty everything, data and all programs off your computer!!) so for now it is fine. Enjoying? Not sure.

    Like

  3. As always, Jo-Ann, you come up with the best topics. I never thought to ask you how you do that. (Struggling with what to go with for my blog, Thoughts on Thursday..) I’ve had lots of different lives–comes with living quite a while. One of my lives I was an elementary school principal, (which I did later in life, too). I used to talk with my young moms when they were struggling with the babies and young kids and how to do it all, which often meant putting what they wanted to do on hold. I’d say, the thing is, if you don’t die young, you have maybe 4, 5, or 6 lives ahead of you. It doesn’t seem possible when you’re drowning in changing diapers, washing kids hair, the school volunteer stuff, the job you only so-so like, and trying to find time to be with your husband. But that is the truth. (Humm. I think I’ve hit on what to write about for Thursday. Sometimes stream of consciousness does work best. LOL That’s what you pantsers do, right.)
    More on track with your subject, Jo-Ann. I’m so glad I didn’t know how long it would take me to get published.(Because that was always the goal. Not just to write for myself, but to write something others would enjoy.) I sold my first book last year to a small Canadian e-press Feb. 5, 2013. I’d been writing since before I retired, now 6 1/2 years ago. That’s a lot of critiques, contest judge comments, conferences, on-line classes, submissions, and rejections from editors & agents. Along the line, I nearly quit a ton of times. The pain of those rejections and comments was drearily depressing. The money I’ve spent over those years and continue to spend….well, let’s just say, it will be quite a while before I can see myself breaking even, much less making much of a “profit” from this business. 🙂
    But along the way, I’ve learned skills I didn’t have before, I’ve met incredibly wonderful, supportive friends in person and on-line, and now I get to share my stories with others. I’m blessed beyond measure to have this opportunity.
    There are parts of the job I don’t like. (Did you ever have a job you entirely loved?) I spent all yesrteday (why I’m only just now here) doing line edits for my second book scheduled to come out this spring. Tedious, nit-picking task. I have a good line editor, and she found most of the places where a comma was missing or didn’t need to be there. Making sure all the dates were formatted the same way. (Not the way I’d done them, nor the way DH wanted me to do them. LOL) I didn’t hit the bed until after 1! Never stay up that late any more. And I’m not through. Taking today off from the line edits to catch up on all the emails, blogs, etc. I’m notoriously slow with all of the technology. Jeez. One of my good writer friends has sent me a request to join LInkedin. Yikes! One more Social Media thing to do. But she’s very good at what she does, and I guess this means I’ll have to join that bandwagon too.
    Despite all the stuff I don’t like, or don’t feel I do “good enough,” still I’m so fortunate to do this work. If someone smiles, laughs, or cries along the way because of something I’ve written; they feel their world is a little easier to live in or to forget about for a while, then I’m really happy.
    And you, too, Jo-Ann Carson will be joining this world of published author. This has gotta be your year!
    Apologies for the lengthy post, my friend. 🙂

    Like

    1. Marsha
      I love your comment. I think you should use it for a post. You write from the heart in a way that makes me stop and think…and smile. It’s a wonderful expression of where I want to be after I publish, and I so admire you for your writing ability, and also your amazing way of reaching out to people. You are an amazing individual.
      Thanks for your continuing friendship and support.
      Good luck with your edits.
      Best
      Jo-Ann (who is determined to put another hour of revisions in before dusk settles.)
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Thanks so much for sharing this (and to Marsha for posting it on FB). It reminds me that I write best when I write for myself. I know there are Know-it-Alls who say you should study the market and then write for that. But if every writer thought that way, we never would have had “Harry Potter” and many, many other wonderful books. I get depressed sometimes because I haven’t been a big financial success (at 60+ I am just publishing my first novel), but I constantly need reminders, big and small, that there is so much more to life than being Successful. Cats and icicles and the laughter of friends and spring flowers.
    Best,
    Julie Davis
    Durham, NC

    Like

    1. Julie
      Nice to meet another writer. Yes, Marsha is a wonderful connector of people, and a cherished friend. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your view and experience. I think we’re in the same boat, and while I could tear my hair out at times, the view is pretty good.
      Best Wishes for your writing
      Jo-Ann Carson

      Like

Leave a Reply

