Characters, Writing Life

My Clue Master Tournament

Clue-eileen-brennan-29436986-327-500
Eileen Brennan as Ms. Peacock in the movie, Clue

Do you like to play?

I love games,  and luckily I know some like-minded people. On the weekend I hosted a Clue Master Tournament. Twelve adults (dressed to kill) broke into two groups of six and played a game of Clue (made by Hasbro Gaming).

The game, designed by Anthony E. Pratt in England in 1949 has been popular for decades. (Wikipedia) I’m sure you’ve played it, but in case you forgot the details, it goes like this: A man (Mr. Black)  has been murdered. You have to figure out: who done it, where they done it, and which weapon they used. They left out motive, but that’s okay. To find the murderer you must use deductive reasoning.

At what we called the competitive table sat Mr. Plum complete with a pipe, Ms. Peacock with a lovely hat and veil, Inspector Clueso dressed in a suit jacket and speaking perfect French, and other great nefarious detectives. At the non-competitive table Ms. Plum, the Rope, Jessica Fletcher who decided to go blond for the weekend, myself as Bones with a skeleton around my neck and other detectives matched our wits. Great fun.

Here is the trailer from the 1985 movie Clue

I dream about someday creating my own board game for one of my series.

What about you? What is your favorite board game? If you were to create one, what would it be like?

8 thoughts on “My Clue Master Tournament

  1. I don’t know what I’d design, but my guilty pleasure game it Tetris at bedtime. Somehow while I play (Humming the old tetris music, Dance of the Sugarplum Ferries, the inventor was Russian, which sadly is not included in the online game) my mind fies and processes the events of the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Judy
      Tetris? I don’t think I’ve ever played that game. You’ll have to show me it to me sometime.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I love Clue. Remember lots of fun games years ago. Last summer at RomCon, the romantic suspense authors did a giant clue game with 10 tables, two authors at each table and 8-10 readers. The authors had to move tables every so often. It was set up that the authors were the murderers. It was so fun. Everyone was way into it. (Well, I was certainly into it. Hate to lose. And I didn’t!) You do have to use reasoning powers to figure out who done it. It’s more than just a “luck” game. I don’t play board games any more. Maybe when the grands get older. I’ll take it up again. Fun post, Jo-Ann!

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Turning green here. The Rom Con tournament sounds like so much fun. I hope they keep doing it, so I can join in some time.
      So you’re a master clue sleuth eh! Good to know. We had several competitive people playing on Saturday who even bluffed. I became so overwhelmed with the fun of it all that I have to admit losing my concentration. But I had a great time. In other words, I can’t say I win a lot.
      I too am looking forward to my grandkids getting older to play board games with them.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding to the conversation.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Pat
      I did. Years ago I did an Italian mystery dinner, but I think this was even more fun, because we didn’t have to sustain a character.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi
      Funny you should ask. The organizing team thought long and hard on this one. We considered using dice, cards etc. But in the spur of the moment we asked who wanted a competitive game and six people headed in that direction. Life’s funny sometimes. The big questions turn out to be not that big.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I hope you have your own Clue Master tournament.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

