Guest bloggers, Women, Writing Life

Chicken Soup for the Soul: Just Us Girls – Lisa Lange

CSS Just Us GirlsThank you, Jo-Ann, for having me back again!  It’s been a thrill sharing and connecting with your readers – thank you.

I am pleased to share with your readers that my story ‘Two Girls and Their Dream’ is featured in the Nov 5, 2013 release of ‘Chicken Soup for the Soul: Just Us Girls’ (Chicken Soup for the Soul Publishing, LLC).

  • About the book:  A woman’s friends are the family she picks herself. This collection of 101 touching and amusing stories celebrates all that is special about the bonds that women share with their friends – the unique spirit of female friendship.

Whether it’s about something funny or serious, our friends are the first ones we think to call. They are a constant source of support and encouragement. This book is filled with great friendship stories that you’ll love reading and sharing with your friends.

The story about my adventures with my friend and a horse is crazy and a bit nutty –

In my story I tell how my friend and I tried to fulfill a dream but did so without a bit of planning. We jumped on a horse, together, with the intention of riding two astride. But things didn’t exactly go as planned. Although everything turned out alright in the end, it could have turned out much worse. I realize now that with a bit of patience and planning we could have fulfilled our dream with much better results.

And like being a mother, as also shown in my crazy story about my friend and our horsey adventures, sometimes life can get a bit topsy-turvy. Being a mom and running a busy household – keeping everyone and everything on track – requires planning, organization, and forethought.   And so does the writing life. Organizing my writing schedule and planning my writing projects, the same as in being a mom and running my household, has meant a more productive and fulfilling writing life.  Sure life and all its unexpected surprises can send you tumbling. But getting back up, getting back on that horse and getting and staying on track, all with a bit of planning and organization, has meant a fulfilling writing life more than I ever imagined.

Thank you Jo-Ann for having me here!

Excerpt:

Two little girls had a dream. But my friend, Janelle, and I were no longer ‘little girls.’ And Even thought we didn’t live in the same place – she in Edmonton, Alberta , Canada and I in neighbouring British Columbia on Vancouver Island – we still had dreams of things we wanted to do together, even if they were the dreams of little girls.

Despite the fact we were thirty-something with four kids between us, half the time we acted like little girls – not the adults we were ‘supposed’ to be.  So when Janelle purchased a chestnut brown quarter horse named Kye and the owner assured her that Kye would be able to ride two people at the same time, I promptly packed up my kids and caught the next flight to Alberta.  As the plane lifted off, I knew that we were about to fulfill our childhood dream. We were going to ride astride one horse together through the fields of Stony Plain, Alberta.

Giveaway – from November 8 to November 15 inclusive, all those who comment will be put in a draw to win the book “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Just Us Girls.”  Be sure to comment!

17 thoughts on “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Just Us Girls – Lisa Lange

    1. Hi D.
      Welcome to my blog.
      Sorry, I can’t accept the congratulations. It was Lisa Lange, my guest blogger, who published with them. She’s great, isn’t she.:)
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Bravo Lisa! How wonderful that you are getting your writing into the hands of so many readers. Well done! I know how time consuming it is to find homes for your writing. All the best with this story!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jodie – I am most grateful for the opportunities I have had, and even more thrilled to have supportive readers and writers – like you! Take care, and thanks for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog!. Lisa

      Like

    1. Thank you, Ros! It was a great experience my friend and I had, and a wonderful memory we will always share. Thank you for your kind words and for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog! Take care, Lisa

      Like

  2. As a girl who loved horses, I can totally identify with your story. I can’t wait to read the rest of it. And congratulations for all your juggling of writing, family, and everything else in your life. You carry it off with grace and good humour.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Susan, for your kind words. Riding my friend’s horse through the fields of Stony Plain, Alberta, never mind the ‘experience’ my friend and I had, are memories I won’t soon forget. Take care, and thank you always for your kind words and support. Lisa

      Like

  3. I can’t wait to read the rest of this story! My guess is that even if the reality wasn’t quite the same as your dream you both had a wonderful time when you got together and this is one of a long list of memories shared between friends.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Pat. Memories are part of what a friendship makes, and I will always cherish this experience I shared with my friend. Thank you for your kind words, and for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog! Take care and happy writing – Lisa

      Like

  4. Congrats on your newest release, Lisa! Loved your excerpt and found it very inspiring. I think I’m ready for a trip to Alberta and a horse adventure as well!

    You see, I grew up on a farm an hour or two drive north west of Stony Plain. As a teenager I begged my parents to get me a horse and my best friend Jody was a horse nut as well. We got into some interesting adventures with our love of horses. Your story has inspired me to call my friend Jody (who still lives in Alberta) and convince her that we should go on another adventure together — this time as adult with horses 🙂

    Thanks for the inspiration, Lisa!

    Like

    1. Awwww! That’s great, Jacqui. I DO hope you get up there to be with your friend – adventures are treasures, no matter how they turn out, and friendships are eternal. Small world – I have spent much time in and around Stony Plain over the years. Do it now – call your friend – and enjoy the ‘ride!’ Thanks for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog – take care, and happy writing! Lisa

      Like

  5. Now my dream wouldn’t be riding a horse – more like feeding one from the other side of a rather hefty fence 🙂 But I loved your story and totally understood the context. Parenting does take organization and forethought. But, those special moments of unplanned fun can be the ribbons that tie a family together. Thanks for sharing, Lisa.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Mimi! Juggling parenting, writing and life-in-general can often be like riding a horse – sometimes you fall off and things don’t go the way you planned, but it’s the ‘getting back on the horse’ and giving it another go – although maybe not in the same way – is what’s important. Thank you for your kind words and thanks for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog! Take care, Lisa.

      Like

Leave a Reply

