My Number Two Blogging Tip for Writers

2It’s a multimedia, hyper-textual entity, not an essay…

This is an important distinction. Let’s take it apart. First:

It’s Multimedia

You can add pictures, video clips and gifs (dancing images).

It’s an enriched form of communication, far far grander than the last century’s  two dimensional experience of words on paper. So use graphics, take pictures, learn how to share You Tube clips. It all adds to your blog post and your reader’s understanding of your material.

It’s Hyper-Textual

Gone are the days when writers needed to laboriously explain every reference they made, now they simply link topics to a source of information on the Internet that explains it in detail. It’s easier writing, and it’s wonderful for the reader, because they are directing to vast amounts of information.

It’s a Digital Entity not an Essay

Many of us, when we start blogging think in terms of words, paragraphs…essays. But a blog is a digital entity and it comes alive when you use all of its attributes. So the next time you write a post think: 1) what graphic can I add to enhance it  and 2) what sources can I link it to, to give it more depth.

I hope this is helpful.

The Digital Revolution is Changing How we Write and Read

Links: My Number One Blogging Tip

My Top Ten Blogging Tips

bruce-almighty-typing-animated

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

5 thoughts on “My Number Two Blogging Tip for Writers”

    1. Thanks. I like how you make your gifs dance. My typing guy just won’t move for me. I spent thirty minutes trying to get him to do his thing. Blogs can be sooo frustrating at times. Hugs Jo-Ann

      ________________________________

      Like

  1. Jo-Ann, you’re just so much more tech savvy than I. Do you need anything special in the blog set up to add a video? Where do you find your U-Tube things? I mean is there a “card catalog?” LOL
    I’ll definitely remember the link idea for when I do my post about the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens for anyone who wants more.
    Of course, what I don’t like about this rule, is it tells you to “write” less. I like the longer posts. It’s why I prefer blogging over FB or Tweeting. I seldom have time to click on those outside links.
    I see a future world where no one communicates except in 147 “whatevers” at a time!
    Thanks for your usually thought-provoking post!

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      You do a brilliant job of raising the counter point to my position. That is: What about the reader who wants a longer read. Our world is filling up with sound bites. Do we need to add to them?
      I think our readers figure out pretty quickly what kind of writer we are and choose to visit, or not. While many of us are shortening our attention spans, I agree some like longer, more leisurely reads.
      For You Tube: 1) google it 2) go to the site and search Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens (You will find lots of clips from a 1.39 min one to Martha Stewart’s 9 min one. 3) If you want to use one – click Share and you will have several options 4) copy and paste either the url (in the address above) or the info given in the share section (Sorry I can’t be more exact about this. It will depend on whether you have a)created an account with You Tube and/or b) how your blog interface works. Anyway, that’s the general idea. Once you’ve learned it, it’s quick and easy.
      I really enjoy your comments Marsha
      Happy Halloween
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

