My Top Ten Blogging Tips for New Writers

I don’t consider myself an expert, but people ask me for blogging advice. I  figure they see me as a fellow scrambler climbing the dusty blog trail who might have a few ideas to share. Anyway… I decided to write down my top ten pointers. I hope you find them useful.

In short:

  1. It’s all about giving to your readers.
  2. It’s a multi-media hypertextual entity, not an essay.
  3. Highlight key points.
  4. Edit, edit…edit.
  5. Tagging is your way to cast your personal spiderweb through the cyberworld.
  6. Be real.
  7. Turn up regularly.
  8. Advertize but don’t spam.
  9. Always always always reply to comments.
  10. Humor goes a long way.

Next Wednesday I’ll talk about #1 and #2.

One of the bloggers I’ve learned a lot from is Leanne Dyck (who has over 170 thousand hits on her blog). She wrote an interesting post last week about blogging.

What about you? Do you have favorite blogs or tips to share?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

35 thoughts on “My Top Ten Blogging Tips for New Writers”

    1. Yes I am happy we met. It is always nice to know other writer/bloggers that do what I do to share information, techniques etc. with. I helped my friend Nick B. created a blog this month and I just suggested he read this post too. PLM

      Like

  1. Great points, Jo-Ann. You’ve hit on a couple of things I should pay more attention to. Just like in my writing, I put too much in my blogs. Need to look for ways to go shorter and provide white space. All the things I like about your blogs–and the highlighting.
    I learned by following what others did, like commenting back to folks. I make sure to do that even if my guests don’t. I’ve not asked guests assuming folks know to do that and not wanting to insult them, but I’ve had a couple who didn’t.
    I don’t understand about re-blogging. I FB and Tweet blogs, but what is it exactly that Paulette did?
    Thanks as always for a useful, thought provoking blog. Look forward to the next installments. 🙂

    Like

    1. Marsha
      Your writing style makes me feel at home. I think it fits for you and I like it. I feel like I’m in your Texan home having a good chat.
      Reblogging is an option for other WordPress users. There’s a button we can push and the blog we’re looking at gets reblogged on our blog with the name of the original blogger on it. So it’s a great way of gaining a bigger audience. It’s too bad all blogs don’t have that button, but if you wanted to I guess you could always cut and paste.
      I’m half way to Seattle.
      Thanks for stopping by and chatting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. When you get back, help me find the re-blog button. I found lots of buttons, but not one that said re-blog. I’d love to do that with this one and I’m sure with others you’ll post. Have a great time. Fingers and toes crossed. Please FB your news!

        Like

      2. Hi Marsha
        You don’t have a wordpress blog so you won’t have the button, but feel free to cut and paste my work to your blog.Thanks again for all your encouragement.
        Best Wishes
        Jo-Ann

        Like

    1. I’m not sure if this is what you’re asking, but tagging is what you do after you’ve written a blog. There’s a section in WordPress and in Blogger where you can type in all the keywords (or ‘tags’). This makes it easier for a search engine to find your post. For example, Jo-Ann tagged this post with, “blogging, blogging platforms, blogging tips, writing, Writing Life.” So if someone were to Google “writing life,” this blog will be more likely to come up than if it wasn’t tagged. Some websites/blogsites call these tags, ‘metatags,’ or ‘meta keywords,” or ‘search engine optimization.’ (SEO).

      Like

    1. Hi again
      Maybe my metaphor is weak. By tagging I pull people from all sorts of interests into my world, and I kind of see it like a spider web. But that’s me. Sorry if it’s a weak analogy.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. J.C.
        Okay good. It worked for me. I’m glad it made sense to someone else too. Yeah, I am the spider and I like to roam…
        Best
        Jo-Ann

        Like

  2. Great tips on blogging, Jo-Ann! I’m not keen on blogging myself (9 times out of 10 I can’t think of anything interesting to say) but I do like to visit blogs (especially blogs like yours!) as a commenter and occasionally a guest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

