On the Road Again…

Jack_Kerouac_SmallWriting Quote

“One day I will find the right words, and they will be simple.” Jack Kerouac, The Dharma Bums

Living Quote

“Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.” Mark Twain

Lone Star Writing Competition Results

My Black Cat Blues manuscript came third in the Lone Star Writing Competition (N.W. Houston RWA – Romantic Suspense Category), which I think is pretty cool. But what’s got me dancing is my manuscript has been requested by one of the editors.

Is that my life in the tea leaves?

Once a year, a group of  us (local writers) go for tea leaf readings. I don’t have enough fingers and toes to count the number of times the psychic we visit has blown my mind. All I see when I look in the cup is wet leaves.

I thought it would be a good topic for a blog, and considered included pictures of her gabled Victorian house with its stained glass windows  that makes me feel like I’m in a place outside of time… in the parlor of a true seer. But I’d never be able to capture the magic of it all.

The reason I’m mentioning it is that vising a psychic reminds me that there is so much more to life than what we see and think about in our day to day lives. And it’s that “so much more” that I want to get on the page. The depths of knowing and feeling, the interconnected experience of being human, the joy, pain and sorrow of it all. I digress.

On the Road Again

PJ and I are heading to Seattle this week for the Emerald City Writing Conference. I hate packing, and have taken the car to the shop twice already…but I’m excited about our trip. We’ll visit family on the way, shop  for Glocks, Derringers and boat stuff… and I’ll get to wear a tiara with my pajamas. It will be a wonderful break from our usual routines.

If I’m slow in answering comments that’s why. I’m distracted. But I hope to come back with lots of stories and pictures.

At the Friday night dinner that kicks-off the conference, I will be sitting at the front table with editors and agents (because I finaled in the ECO writing competition with the beginning of my second Nederlander story). I’m thrilled, but nervous.

Feel Like Writing in a Coffee House?

I sometimes write in coffee houses, so a good friend sent me this you tube video. It’s really funny, and well worth watching to the end.

So how about you? What would you ask the tea leaves? Any comments, most appreciated.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

16 thoughts on “On the Road Again…”

  1. Wow, you’re doing great, that’s awesome. I’ve never been to a seer, was always kind of sceptical but you’ve given me pause. I think I would ask her if I was on the right track or not, (writing) hope you have a wonderful time at the conference 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Jacquie
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Yes it’s fun to see what she sees in the cup. Next year you should join us.
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I’m crossing my fingers for you in the ECO! Congrats on your Lone star placement and request. Good things do come in threes! Is the Calico Cat going to make an appearance in your Blackberry Cove cozy series? I love that place. I’d ask the tea leaf lady where Scott will be placed. I’d be too nervous to ask about my writing! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi J.C.
      Thanks. I’m cheering for you in the ECO competition too. I’ll email you the results right away (Friday night). And yes, I’m liking the: “good things come in threes” idea and am hanging on to it.
      There’s a woman who reads coffee grounds in the Blackberry Cove series, similar but different. I like to keep my tea leaf readings to myself.
      I’m hoping Scott will be placed close to me. Purely selfish, I know, but there you have it. I used to be too chicken to ask the psychic about my writing, but not anymore. Everyone at the table asked about theirs. It was fun.
      happy writing

      Like

  3. I had my tealeaves read once, don’t think the psychic was particularly psychic though. 🙂

    Thanks for that video! 🙂 Did you catch the ghost in elevator one on YouTube? That has me in stitches.

    Like

    1. Hi Emma
      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you do run into a good psychic. It’s quite the experience.
      Glad you liked the video. I’ll look for the ghost on You Tube.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. ‘Black Cat Blues’ requested by an editor, after coming in third! What great news, Jo-Ann. I’m so happy for you. Have fun at Emerald City and don’t let the editors and agents intimidate you. Deep down they are hoping to score with the next bestselling author – which just might be you! The psychic was so good that she has me scanning my memory bank for someone from my past who could play a significant role in my future…

    Like

    1. Helena
      Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I want to meet this mysterious man, myself. Thanks for the tip about remembering the agents and editors are people too. Wish you were going with us.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. Sweetie, you buried the leads: Finaling in the contests and the editor request! Congrats! So happy for you. The conference will be such fun. Make sure you let us know the results.
    I so loved the video! Don’t you know the folks there were shocked!
    I’ve twice had a reading. Both times with cards. Once aeons ago in California and once just a couple years ago at a fundraiser of some sort. I find it interesting how close they come. Before I sold, I toyed with the idea of stopping in at a place. I just wanted her to tell me yes, keep on or no, it’s not gonna happen. The not knowing is sooooo tough! You are so close, Jo-Ann. You’re certainly due your 3rd good thing. 🙂 (Or 4 or 5 or 6–why think small!)

    Like

    1. Marsha
      What can I say. You rock, my friend. And I’ll take > 3 lol.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  6. Congratulations on your contest win and I’m sure you’ll impress the editors and agents you sit with. I suspect it’s only a matter of time before the Black Cat Blues finds a home to say nothing of Blackberry Cove and…

    I had my tea leaves read years ago but not recently. It’ll b interesting to see what comes true! And I don’t think I’d get much writing done in the coffee shop you show!

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      Thanks for stopping by and saying such nice things. I’d love to find my babies a home, but I think the universe is trying to teach me patience. lol.
      I agree about the coffee shop. Can you imagine! OMG. I’d be screaming.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

