Lisa Lange -Not Your Mother’s Book…

NYMB On being a parent

lisa 4Thank you Jo-Ann for having me! I am so excited to be here!

You asked me to tell your readers a bit about myself, so here goes:

I am a wife of 22 years, mother to two teen boys, office employee and writer. I’ve been writing for over 10 years, and had have been published in magazines both locally and nationally, as well as in a writing reference book. Most recently, my work has appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul books, as well as anthologies by Publishing Syndicate.  I am writing towards publication in women’s fiction, and have recently started writing fiction for young adults. When I’m not writing (and working, and refereeing teens, and cooking, and…the list goes on), I am a voracious reader, and when I’m not reading or writing, I’m hiking with my kids. I love the outdoors; the more remote a forest, the better.

Jo-Ann asked me if I were queen of the universe what would I do?  Aw geez…lemme see….  I would create chocolate that wouldn’t make me fat – same goes for burgers and French fries. I would have the time to read every book I wanted, anytime, and every day would be a ‘great hair’ day.

An Excerpt- from Parenting Lessons I Learned from Apollo 13

New mothers are often perceived as not knowing very
much, and deep down, I was determined to prove those naysayers
wrong. Even though I knew what to expect about the
birthing process and the resulting little one, I also knew I still
had a lot to learn. But my biggest lesson would be to follow my
instincts—with the help of an astronaut.

It was the week before Christmas and I was already two
weeks overdue. My doctor assured me Santa would not have
to make a stop here in British Columbia, Canada, to deliver
our baby. The baby would be born before Christmas. “Don’t
want the little one in the oven TOO long!” he joked with me.

Not Your Mother’s Book….On Being a Parent (Publishing Syndicate, LLC September 2013) – 68 humorous stories about being a parent and raising kids. Find it at amazon.com or www.publishingsyndicate.com

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

25 thoughts on “Lisa Lange -Not Your Mother’s Book…”

  1. Lisa, you have a wonderful touch with those “slice of life” stories. If you figure out that Queen of the Universe thing, please share. I’d love to be able to read whenever, wherever and I sure wouldn’t turn down “good hair” days either!

    Like

    1. Oh thank you, Susan, for your kind words!!! Yes, my big dream is to be able to read ALL the time…although, the non-fattening treats would definitely have to be invented by then, for sure! Wishing you ‘good hair’ days! Thanks for visiting Jo-Ann’s blog! Lisa

      Like

  2. You are the ultimate multi-tasker and juggler Lisa. I admire your work ethic and ability to find time for your writing in the middle of your hectic lifestyle. Congratulations on this latest story. And yes, ‘being a carb queen’ those no cal fries would be excellent.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words of support, Jodie. You are always so sweet and supportive! And yes, no-cal fries would be the best! Best wishes to you in your own writing! Thank you for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog.

      Like

    1. Laura! So glad you visited! Your never-ending kind words and support mean so much! And yes, calorie-free burgers and fries would be the best ever! Thank you so much for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog!

      Like

    1. I thoroughly enjoy writing what I write, Mimi, and I have been so fortunate to have the opportunities I have had! Making people laugh is the best reward! Thank you for your kind words and for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog!

      Like

    1. Bonnie – you are the best, truly – your Erma Bombeck comparison/compliment always make me blush – thank you for being my personal cheerleader! So glad you stopped by Jo-Ann’s blog!

      Like

  3. You are an inspiration, Lisa, will all you do and how gracefully and graciously you do it. Loved your answer to Jo-Ann’s “queen of the universe” question: chocolate without weight gain, good hair every day, and time to read as much as we want would be heaven. My to-be-read pile is getting taller than me.

    Like

    1. Jacqui – good hair days, everyday, would be the best! And your to-be-read pile? Would love to compare! Thank you so much for your sweet, kind words. So glad you stopped by Jo-Ann’s blog. Happy writing! Lisa

      Like

  4. Hey, Jo-Ann. Lisa, I loved the excerpt! I’ll be sharing the blog with my grown daughters among others.
    Yes, you definitely get my vote for QOTW. I’m assming you mean chocolate in any and all forms–like ice cream, right? Yes, ma’am you’ve got my vote. I’m also all for being able to read more. My time for that has really shrunk since my first book came out last summer. Now, I mostly meet folks like you on lovely blogs, write my own blogs and research for the WIP. Thanks for sharing your inspirational life.

    Like

    1. HI Marsha – glad to hear you’ll be sharing the blog with your grown daughters and others. Um, ya – I mean chocolate in ALL forms! Curious about your first book – will go research that! Happy writing to you, and thank you so much for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog! Lisa

      Like

  5. Thanks, Lisa, for submitting your story to “Not Your Mother’s Book . . . On Being a Parent.” As the co-creator of this book, I looked for stories that were entertaining, well-written, and humorous. Yours fit the bill. Keep submitting your stories at http://www.PublishingSyndicate.com. I’ll be watching for you! And thanks, Jo-Ann, for including Lisa Lange on your blog.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat! So thrilled you found Jo-Ann’s blog! Thanks for being a great editor, and for being on the Publishing Syndicate team! Looking forward to working with you on future books. Thank you so much for your kind words, and for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog! Lisa

      Like

  6. Loved learning more about you…you are one busy gal and deserve all the chocolate you can hold! Remember, it gives you energy. 🙂 Shame on me, I have yet to read your story in Parenting but after the “tease” above, I’m going to do it right now. Keep in mind, I’m taking submissions for Not Your Mother’s Book…On Pets. If you have kids, you usually have pets! My best to you.

    Like

    1. Hi Kathleene – thank you for your kind words! And yes, chocolate does give me energy (too much and I get the shakes 🙂 Noted on the ‘On Pets’ hint…busy, busy, busy I am! Thank you for your kind words, and thank you so much for stopping by Jo-Ann’s blog! Lisa

      Like

  7. Bad hair days seem to come with our island’s lovely damp climate. Fixing them would make you a fortune. Then you could fund the research for the fat-free chocolate which I’m sure would lead to more free time to read and write your ‘Chicken Soup for the Soul stories’. Love the gentle humor in your writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

