Craft, Scrivener, SoMe, Writing Life

My Third Week Learning Scrivener

 

LIBRARY

I’m taking a course on the software, writing program, Scrivener,  from Gwen Hernandez. In this, the third week, I learned:

  • how to track progress and keep project stats
  • interesting things about the corkboard
  • ditto the outliner
  • how to do ‘searches’ and ‘search and replace’s for words, phrases, highlighting, annotations…
  • and how to save searches and collections (which is awesome for creating and working on partials)

Each lesson built on the one before, creating a scaffold of basic knowledge about how to use the sophisticated software program.

I thought today I’d highlight three things I learned recently about the program that I love.

Three Things I Love About Scrivener

  1. It addresses my post-it note way of jigsawing a story together. Normally, I put ideas, phrases, slices of dialogue and sometimes even wholescrive scenes on scraps of paper, in Word files, One Note files, notebooks, creative journals… and yes even on color coded sticky notes, which get stuck on flat surfaces all over my house. Let’s just say my muse doesn’t fly like a crow. I don’t mind that my ideas come to me in bits and pieces, but I absolutely hate it when I lose a piece. So Scrivener is my new BFF. It has all sorts of nooks and crannies to store my ideas in, that are immediately saved and stay put, like the synopsis box, corkboard, outliner and notepad. And I can create research files and store stuff there too. All these “hidey-holes” are a finger stroke away on the screen. My friend Scriv has taken over my overflowing disorganized attic of ideas, sorted and stored them. It’s a creative-hoarders dream come true. Love it.
  2. It gives me a distraction-free page to work on. (There’s a button for that.) The two side columns dissolve and all I see is my work.
  3. It’s packed with cool features. The comprehensiveness of the program appeals to fiction, non-fiction and academic writers. While it’s depth seemed overwhelming at first, when it’s pulled apart slowly its beauty is revealed in the details. Tasks are generally easy and logical. It’s like a scrumptious buffet of writing tools.

I’m just a baby Scriv.  I can’t wait to see what I learn next week, in the final lessons.

Links: Learning Scrivener Week 1, Learning Scrivener Week 2

Next week I’ll look at what some other people are saying. Happy Writing.

7 thoughts on “My Third Week Learning Scrivener

  1. So glad you’re loving this, Jo-Ann. I so admire you for committing to give it a shot. I’m afraid, I’d get blown out of the water right at first and never be able to catch up. What about timing for taking the class? Are you in the middle of a WIP or beginning a new one or applying concepts to something you’ve already finished?

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thanks for hanging in there with me, even though you’re a die-hard Word Perfect gal.
      I just passed the first plot twist in my new story and am heading into the second act (using Scrivener) . For the most part learning the course at the same time as writing has been helpful, but I’ve had trying moments. One night it took me two hours to find 1200 words I thought I’d lost. It turned out I hadn’t attached them to the binder properly, so they were there, but not counted in the total word count.
      There’s nothing like learning by doing. I think if I took the course and wasn’t using it, the details would get jumbled and lost in my head.
      I’ve taken twenty to sixty minutes each day to study a Scrivener lesson, which has cut into my writing time, but will pay off in the long run.
      You ask good questions.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Jo-Ann, I just went back and read your three posts on Scrivener. I used WriteWay and loved it, but I lost everything when my computer crashed. I’d backed up all my work, but never thought to back up WriteWay. I’m very interested in looking at Scrivener and Gwen’s class. Small bites is all the info my old mind can take.

    Like

    1. Hi Stephanie
      Thanks for stopping by. I know what you mean about small bites. It’s the way I like to manage my world.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. This post seems to be going viral. 233 hits and it’s not even 7 a.m. People seem to want to read about Scrivener.
    Cheers
    ps 452 hits at 3 p.m.

    Like

  4. Sounds like you’re really getting a lot of this program, Jo-Ann!

    I, too, have endless hand-written notes for my WIP. I do the majority of brainstorming, plotting and character development long hand. I love the idea of having it all so organized (because I’m always searching for that scrap of information!), but the thought of having to transcribe it all to the computer is daunting. Have you found it to be an inconvenience?

    Like

    1. Hi Ros
      Yes, I am enjoying the program. I haven’t compiled yet, and that will be the final test. I should be trying that in a lesson soon.
      I’m trying to skip the longhand stage and input my ideas directly into the program. At the moment it looks like a lot of pieces, but I have faith. lol. What else do we writers run on.
      You could, if you liked the program, write the newsletter on it and then compile it in html.
      So nice of you to stop by and comment.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

