Joan Leacott – Above Scandal

JoanLeacott_AboveScandal_200px_bd

Hi JoAnn, Thank you for inviting me to your blog. I like the way you’ve decorated.

Joan Leacott 11About My Name

You wanted to know how I came up with my pseudonym. I’d already decided on my logline; heart, humour, and heat, Canada style, and I wanted something to reflect its elements. After days of fruitless searching for something unique, I started blending surnames of authors I admired. LEA is from Stephen Leacock, a Canadian humourist á la Mark Twain. COTT is from the writer with so much heart, Louisa May Alcott. The JOAN part is all me, as is the heat in my stories. When I first googled “Joan Leacott”, nothing came up. Nothing. That’s a Googlewhack!

If I were Queen of the Universe…

I’d bring Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, and D.E. Stevenson back to life to spend a day with me, you and a few dozen friends, especially, my sister Eileen. We always shared the same taste in books and always laugh in the same spots. I’d get them tipsy and then have them reveal the secrets for their deft portrayals of ordinary people. They are a constant inspiration to me in my writing.

Excerpt from ABOVE SCANDAL

Chapter 1. Homecoming

Home. Memories of screaming matches, slamming doors, and bitter tears rose on a sour wave of bile.

Stopped in the driveway of the big red brick house, Cathy unglued her fingers one at a time from the steering wheel and put the idling Lexus in reverse.

“Mom, is this Nonna’s house?” ten-year-old Hayley asked.

Cathy nodded.

“Mo-om, are you okay?”

Maybe. If they let us in.

“Just nervous, Hayley sweetie. It’s been a while.” Eleven years since life had driven Cathy away. Now death drew her back.

Through the rear-view mirror, she glimpsed Ryan’s house across the street. Did he still live there?

Low pewter clouds bustled overhead. If only her memory could be cleansed as easily as the rain washed the dusty roads and sidewalks of Clarence Bay.

Sighing hard and deep, Cathy put her car in park and turned off the engine. She climbed out, smoothed her sleeveless pink blouse over her black jeans, and pushed her eyeglasses up her nose. A chilly raindrop splat on her shoulder and ran down her pristine front. She shivered and groaned at the mess.

Hayley giggled. “Better’n bird poop.”

Cathy’s tension eased just enough to permit a wry huff before snapping back like a hard rubber band. Holding hands, they walked up the front path to the deep porch.

“Well, here goes nothing.” Cathy pressed the doorbell with a trembling finger.

“Don’t worry, Mom. It’ll work itself out.”

Cathy’s jumpy gaze skittered over the old house and its property—the neatly mown lawn, the freshly dug garden without a weed in sight, the sparkling windows. Somebody had a great way with yard tools.

The screen door rattled as the inside door opened. Zia Yola, grown softer and rounder in Cathy’s absence, stood gaping at them.

“Ciao, Zia Yola,” Cathy said in Italian and held her breath for her aunt’s reaction.

Zia Yola’s hands fluttered to her pale cheeks, her dark eyes huge above her stubby nails. Her gaze bounced between Cathy and Hayley as if she didn’t quite believe her own sight.

“Are you my grandmother?” Hayley asked.

Buy links for Joan’s books are: Kobo, Amazon.ca, Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble

Joan’s Book page: joanleacott.ca

Joan’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/joanleacott

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

SMART, SEXY, SUSPENSE ... with a touch of magic Jo-Ann Carson writes romance twisted with suspense and polished humor. Her strong characters take you on a fast and fun journey. Currently she’s writing the Gambling Ghost series, a sweet and saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. guaranteed to warm your heart, make you laugh out loud and leave you craving a ghost of your own. Jo-Ann loves to interact with readers and can be found on social media: Website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “Joan Leacott – Above Scandal”

  1. Hi Joan
    It’s a pleasure to host your post. I love how wholesome your cover looks, and the way you put together you name.
    Best Wishes
    Jo-Ann

    Like

  2. Hi Joan, I think we emailed last spring. I am writing the small town series set on Vancovuer Island. I never did make it to Parry Sound last summer, but isn’t this the book set on Georgian Bay? An intreguing beginning. I always love the Italian twist. I might be in Collingwood and Toronto in September, it would be fun to get together for coffee.

    Like

    1. Hi Judy, Lovely to see you again. Yes, this is the series that takes place in Parry Sound. That’s really Georgian Bay on the cover. I’d love to meet up with you. Contact me and we’ll figure it out.

      Like

  3. A day with Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer when tipsy? That would be time travel at it’s best. I don’t know if they would reveal their creative secrets though. They were very circumspect but it would be fun to try to get them to loosen their stays (g!)

    Like

  4. Sorry, I missed this, Jo-Ann. Left for a short Labor Day weekend holiday with friends. Glad I stumbled back over here. Joan, have you ever taken any Margie Lawson classes? Boy do you have the visceral stuff working for you in this excerpt! Fine writing. I’ll be checking this book out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

