contests, Muse, Writing Life

Finalist in the Lone Star Contest

Happy Dancing

Black Cat Blues finaled in the Northwest Houston RWA, Lone Star Contest (Romantic-Suspense category), a competition based on the first 25 pages and judged by 2 published and 1 unpublished author. The three top scoring submissions now go on to the final judges: Editor – Whitney Mae, Ellora’s Cave, Editor – Rachel Burkot, Harlequin, Epublisher – Lori Graham, The Wild Rose Press. The results will be announced Oct. 5th. I’m  grateful for this opportunity to have my work reviewed and more than a wee bit excited.

A Cozy New Story

My plan was to spend August visiting with family and thinking about my second Maggy Malone mystery, but then I started thinking about finishing my third Nederlander book which is partly written, and as if that wasn’t enough clutter in my mind a brand new story started to break through the haze and tango with my nerve endings. For five days straight I woke up at three in the morning  with dangling plot pieces that didn’t quite fit together, but kept pulling at me. I hate to fight with dancing muses,  so I think I’ll write the darn story. It’s a novella introducing a new “cozy” mystery series. Only time will tell whether these late night story ideas were worth pursuing.

The Creative Process

How about you? Do you follow your muse or do you make yourself finish other tasks first?

 

12 thoughts on “Finalist in the Lone Star Contest

  1. Congratulations on the final! I attend that chapter’s conference a few years back with a couple of friends and critique partners. The road trip was great fun, the conference was awesome, and the members super nice.

    If my muse is cooperating, I try to never ignore her. She’ll punish me by disappearing for days if I don’t join her at the computer. But I’ll have to admit, sometimes life comes first. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Jerrie
      I wish I could go. I’d love to see Texas, but it’s a wee bit far and I’m already planning a trip to Seattle. It sounds like a great chapter. My three judge comment packages were full of encouraging comments and helpful suggestions. As you say – super nice.
      I love the image of your muse punishing you. That’s exactly how I felt at 3 in the morning. It’s interesting how my relationship with her gets stronger and shall we say weirder as I write more. Is she taking over my life? Maybe.
      I want to thank you again for being my guest this weekend.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Super congrats, Jo-Ann. That’s a good contest and a fun conference. As Jerrie said, very nice folks there. You are whipping out with all these finals in contests, girl. Must mean you’re very close as I’ve said for some time. 🙂
    On the Muse subject, mine is much less a manhandler than y’alls is. As long as she doesn’t block something, we’re good to go. 🙂 Seldom does she beat me over the head. So happy for you, Jo-Ann.

    Like

    1. Thanks Marsha
      It’s a good week to be a writer for me. I look at these contest results as signposts. The feedback has been super helpful, and sooner or later I’m bound to make it to my destination – a published story.
      Glad to hear you don’t get beaten up by your muse. Mine is definitely getting bossier.
      Spending a week with my grandkids. So much fun.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Congratulations, JoAnn. Fingers, toes, and bra straps crossed for you. 🙂 My muse and I have an agreement; if I make careful note of her suggestions, she’ll allow me to stay focused on the WIP. Then she usually contributes to the WIP so I can get to her latest flash of genius sooner rather than later.

    Like

    1. Joan
      I like that deal. I’ll have to have a word or two with mine. I’d prefer to feel more in charge.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Judy
      Too funny. You’re right, not many people to talk to at 3 in the morning. But this muse has attitude.
      I’ve always liked cozies, so I thought I should try my hand at one. There will of course be a romantic element.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Thanks Joanne
      I like the way you look at it. I get the feeling I should be doing something with all these ideas.
      Thanks for the comment.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. I think you’re wise to listen to your muse when it comes to you. It seems to be guiding you very well. I have been ignoring mine for too
    long because I did want to wrap up the story I was working on first. Maybe it will play hard-to-get now. Good luck with Lone Star!

    Like

Leave a Reply

