Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Inspiring Blogger Award

In the blogosphere we bloggers pass awards to one another. It’s more than a game of tag, more like  a professional nod, that goes down like a sparkly glass of champagne, curls the toes and makes you feel like you’re doing something right. A rare and treasured moment.

I am honored to be passed the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” by Anna Markland a truly inspiring  writer of Medieval Historical Romance who lives a fascinating life in Panama and sometimes Canada, and is one of the most prolific writers I know. Thank you Anna.

With this award comes two expectations: (1)  to share 7 things about myself. Sheesh. Seven!  and then (2) to pass it on. Yippee!

“In the end, though, maybe we must all give up trying to pay back the people in this world who sustain our lives. In the end, maybe it’s wiser to surrender before the miraculous scope of human generosity and to just keep saying thank you, forever and sincerely, for as long as we have voices.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

My Seven

1. I hate talking about myself, and it’s not that I don’t think I’m important, but rather that I know everyone else is more interesting. Still, this exercise is an opportunity even it it is difficult, so I’m adding quotes to spice it up.

“Cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you, and to give thanks continuously. And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

2.  I love to swim, always have. Put me in water and I smile. I go to a local 50 meter pool and swim laps three times a week. Feeling the cool water slide down the sides of my body  reconnects me with myself. Lately I’ve been swimming 1500 meters. Here’s my swimming quote:

“Only when the tide goes out do you discover who’s been swimming naked.”

Warren Buffett

3. I miss my dog, Chester. A rusty red Chesepeake Bay retriever, he was the best dog a person could ever have. When I looked into his molten brown eyes I felt like the universe understood me. Don’t want to say more.My Muse

“Sometimes life knocks you on your ass… get up, get up, get up!!! Happiness is not the absence of problems, it’s the ability to deal with them.”
― Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free

4. My tastes in reading are eclectic, but lately I’ve been favoring genre fiction. When I read the new literary stuff  I keep waiting for something to happen.

“Good writing is good writing. In many ways, it’s the audience and their expectations that define a genre. A reader of literary fiction expects the writing to illuminate the human condition, some aspect of our world and our role in it. A reader of genre fiction likes that, too, as long as it doesn’t get in the way of the story.”
― Rosemary Clement-Moore

5. I love my home on the west coast of Canada. It’s a privilege to live on the edge of the Pacific with snow capped mountains looming in the distance like gargoyles watching over my soul, long sandy beaches that slide into the horizon and the high pitched call of eagles. Salty air frees my mind.

“Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet.”― Thich Nhat Hanh, Peace Is Every Step: The Path of Mindfulness in Everyday Life

6. My list of the finer things in life would include: a good cup of cappuccino,  chocolate, dry red wine, spotted prawns fresh from the ocean boiled for 4 seconds and drenched in butter, food made in Florence, Dutch apple pie, vanilla gelato drizzled with aged balsamic vinegar, my mother’s rice pudding…

“True happiness is to enjoy the present, without anxious dependence upon the future, not to amuse ourselves with either hopes or fears but to rest satisfied with what we have, which is sufficient, for he that is so wants nothing. The greatest blessings of mankind are within us and within our reach. A wise man is content with his lot, whatever it may be, without wishing for what he has not.”
― Lucius Annaeus Seneca

7. But the finest of all the fine things in my life –  is my family.

 “Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.” Marcel Proust.

I Pass the Award to:

Marsha West. “Romance, Suspense and Second Chances. Experience Required”

Soon to publish her first Romantic Suspense, Marsha has her own brand of Texan warmth that  brings stories to life.

Lisa McManus. “Life and writing – with a touch of sass”

Multi-published in Chicken Soup anthologies (and elsewhere) Lisa’s  posts in her Sassy Scribbler capture a slice of life. Funny and uplifting.

And my final note:

“Piglet noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could hold a rather large amount of Gratitude.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

To all the Cannucks out there: “Happy Canada Day.” I’m off to go sailing with good friends.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

13 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”

  1. Loved the picture of Chester, Jo-Ann and the quotes to go with the 7 things about myself.
    Enjoy a gorgeous day on the ocean.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on receiving the Very Inspiring Blogger Award which you so richly deserve. Loved your quotes especially Proust and Piglet. My girls have found me in Prague. Happiness is.

    Like

    1. Hi Helena in Prague
      So glad you found your girls. I hope you have a wonderful wonderful time. Thank you for your well wishes and kind words.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Anyone can see why you’ve received this award, Jo-Ann. Even with the cutsy title of 7 things about you, you manage to share and uplift. Loved Rosemary Clement Moore’s quote, but they all are great. Thanks for sending the award on to me. Now, I’ve got my work cut out. Enjoy celebrating Canada Day sailing. Sounds delightful.

    Like

    1. Ahhh Marsha
      Thank you.
      I’m looking forward to reading your 7. The sailing was magnificent, but I’m a little fried (by the sun) and drinking gallons of water to rehydrate.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Coming late to your blogpost, but enjoyed it a lot. I love this idea of sharing 7 things about yourself. It’s a challenge to think of 7, isn’t it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

