Perfect Pitch Part 3 – Sell Yourself

2012_04_Jo-Ann-4“Be prepared with a brief, non-wandering bio of yourself…If you have any publishing credits be sure to mention them.”

(Thrillerfest site)

Short Bio

  • I grew up in Toronto, Canada, but I’ve lived most of my life on the rugged west coast. Presently, I live on Vancouver Island.
  • I started writing full time two years ago when I retired from a teaching career.
  • I’ve written three books and they’ve all won awards.
  • My first book, The Dutch Kiss, came third in the 2012 Daphne de Maurier writing contest and was a gold finalist in the 2012 Golden Claddagh contest.
  • My second book, Fighting Fear, came fourth in the 2013 Great Expectations contest.
  • My third book, Black Cat Blues, came first in the 2013 Southern Heat competition.
  • I belong to the RWA, and Sisters in Crime, and have B.A. in English and an M.Ed.

More Questions to Prepare For:

Many sources say that you need to be ready to answer questions like the ones below (borrowed from “Secrets of a Great Pitch” by agent Rachelle Gardner)

1. How does your story end?

I don’t want to give that away on-line, but I have an answer.

  • the treasure…
  • the kidnapped girl…
  • the love triangle …
  • the next book…

2.  What published author’s style would you compare your writing to?

  • in tone – Carla Neggars
  • in suspense and action – Dianna Love
  • in developing a love triangle – Janet Evanovich

3.  Who are your favorite authors in your genre?

That’s tough, I’m eclectic in my reading habits.

4.  Is this a series? And if so, what are the subsequent books about?

Yes, Black Cat Blues is the first book in the Maggy Malone series which is about mysteries set in Vancouver featuring the enigmatic red head, west coast characters and local history.

4.  Have you worked with a critique group or a professional editor?

I work with an awesome critique partner every week, and I have beta-readers. I consider them all saints.

5.  Have you pitched this to publishers in the past? If so, what was the response?

No. This is my first time.

_____________________

Tomorrow – a guest post from Irish horror writer Emma Meade!

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “Perfect Pitch Part 3 – Sell Yourself”

  1. I love the hat picture! Quite cool. You look like a lady detective! I’m so impressed with how very prepared you are for the pitches, Jo-Ann. I’m assuming you’ll get to pitch more than once. Another question you might be asked, (Some submissions now require this.) what are your plans for marketing? Maybe not depending on time. Wishing you tons of luck, lady! I know you’ve done the work, now the luck thing has to play a part. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Eight days! I’m ready to do a swan dive and catapult it into a stupendous belly flop – and come out smiling. Because whatever happens, I’ll learn from it.That being said it would be wonderful to make some good connections. The room will be full of agents that you line up to see. I’m guessing I might get about four minutes with each and I’m hoping to talk to at least ten. I’m going through their profiles so that I target one’s that I think might be interested. Luck, yes, I could do with a whopping dollop of that.
      I hadn’t thought about the marketing. I’ll get an answer ready. Thanks for the tip.
      And thanks for all your support
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

