Conferences, Writing Life

Studying death-Waiting for The Thrill

blowfly2
Blowfly

About the death part:

I’m taking an outstanding, Sisters in Crime (SINC) on-line course with Phyllis Middleton on crime scenes. Comprehensive, intriguing and oh so gory. I mean really – Who doesn’t like explicit details about and graphic pictures of, decomposing bodies? lol

Did you know that…

If I were to die alone in my house, my houseflies and pets would eat my flesh and within three days, whether they ate me or not, my face would be unrecognizable. Lovely, eh.

As soon as I die, flies will be attracted to my smell (mostly houseflies and blowflies as in pic). They will lay eggs around my orifices and any available wounds. The young maggots will move through my body and populate it scavenging the semi-liquid body materials.

Then the beetles with big jaws will move in. They can really chew. They’ll feed on my skin and tendons as my body dries out.

Meanwhile, my intestinal fauna will digest my intestines, and when they’re gone will move on to eat the surrounding internal organs. My body will eat itself.

My final recycling effort.

Perhaps I’m taking this all too personally.

I don’t watch CSI shows because they gross me out, but the intricate way nature takes back our bodies piece by piece is fascinating, and this course rocks.

Don’t you wish you were a mystery writer?

About The Thrill

Thirty one days until the start of Thrillerfest (the national thriller writer’s conference in New York).thrillerfest

<My scalp tingles.>

Some of the workshops I’ve picked out are: “The Series Character: How to do it right” with Michael Connelly,

<I’m having difficulty swallowing>

“Small Things” with John Sandford,

<My shoulders tighten, my hands tremble>

and “Off on the Right Foot: When to Outline and When to Write” with T.Jefferson Parker.

I feel especially lucky, because I will be volunteering for six hours on the third day which I didn’t pay to attend. Working on the registration table and at the cocktail party I’ll get more opportunity to network. It’s all very exciting. And then there’s the Statue of Liberty.

Now it’s your turn…

Do dead bodies interest you? I can’t believe I asked that, but you know what I mean.

(Pictures from Wikipedia)

10 thoughts on “Studying death-Waiting for The Thrill

  1. Not sure if dead bodies interest me but reading mystery novels, watching CSI, and now dreaming about going to Thrillerfest one day – certainly does! So maybe I am interested in dead bodies… They do tell a story as they decompose and reveal to those investigators all sorts of things. And I do love a good story 🙂 Hope you have a fantastic time at Thrillerfest, Jo-Ann!

    Like

    1. Hi Jacqui
      Thanks for stopping by and talking dead bodies with me. lol. They do make for intriguing stories.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I am curious about what happens when the body dies. And (yes I am strange) I would like to watch an autopsy. As for graphic, aren’t we taught in writing…to show. Tee hee. I do enjoy a good story that really gets involved.

    Like

    1. Hi Mary
      Yes the show gets interesting around death and even more so around murder.. That’s why I’m taking the course. After the first lesson I had to run back to a murder scene and add details that I hope make it more authentic.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. LOL They do say that for creative there’s a fine line between insanity and genius. We’re all probably just a bit over the top. Your course sounds fantastic. Next time you see it’s being offered, please let me know. I probably should join SIC. You’ve got some great courses at Thriller Fest. Sure it will be a great conference for you.
    I leave next week for RomCon. A conference primarily for readers. I’m finally excited. Got my cover today!!! I’ll be sharing. Watch for it.
    Wonder what the people reading emails and posts think of us in the writing community? 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Your first cover! I’m so excited for you. Can’t wait for the big reveal.I’ll keep an eye out.
      RomCom sounds interesting. I hope you post about it. I’ll be writing about Thrillerfest for sure. Thanks for stopping by and sharing.
      And regarding people who may be reading our comments, I’m thinkin they’re thinkin..leaning towards the crazy.
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Jo-Ann,
    You know with a blog called Profiles of Murder, I love dead bodies! And yes, I sound like a psychopath. Dead bodies tell investigators the story of what happen to the person and the person murdered them.

    Do blog about your experience at Thrillerfest, since I’ve never gone, but would love to go! Take LOTS of pictures!

    You will New York! I went in 2011 and took the KOD tour. I saw the Statue of Liberty, where the twin towers went down, buildings so tall you can barely see the sun! My husband and I stayed in a hotel on Wall Street. We even rode the subway, a first for this farm gal! I’d LOVE to go back there someday. I didn’t have enough time to go to Central Park.

    Have a great time!
    Diane Kratz

    Like

    1. Hi Diane
      I love your blog, Profiles of Murder. It’s so informative. Gruesome at times, yes, but factual. You sure know your stuff. Thanks so much for stopping by.It means a lot to me.
      I’m so excited about NY. There’s so much to see and do. I keep telling myself to just take it one day at a time. Not an easy task. It will definitely be a trip of a lifetime for me. We’ll see how much I can fit into the blog.lol
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. Oh, but I love insanity and psychopathic behavior! Okay..in my books. They are great fun to research. Marsha and I went to a forensic workshop at the RWA conference in Orlando. Gritty, a tad gory, but so informative. Helps with realism in our stories.

    So, yes they do interest me. 🙂

    Like

    1. Jerrie
      Love your opening line. You put me on the edge of my seat right away. No surprise there.
      An affinity for gory dead bodies – mystery writers have so much in common. lol
      Thanks for stopping by
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

