My Vancouver Romantic Thriller finals in a Writing Contest

5 My latest manuscript, a romantic thriller set in Vancouver Canada, finalled in the Southern Heat Writing competition in the Romantic Suspense category.

Kat Hall at Champagne Books and Patience Bloom at Harlequinn Romantic Suspense will be judging the next round and the results will be announced mid July.

I originally called the book, Black Cat Blues, but am considering renaming it, A Lover’s Secret. Whatever it’s called, it’s my favorite story so far.

Logline: When a woman comforts a murder victim, she learns a dangerous secret.

I’m tinkering with the pacing, and strengthening different parts of it, but I love the basic story, particularly the west coast climax which involves a boat chase across the Georgia Strait in storm conditions. It was so much fun to write.

Happy dancing tonight.

(Picture – Granville Island, Vancouver, one of the settings for the story – taken by PJ)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

10 thoughts on “My Vancouver Romantic Thriller finals in a Writing Contest”

    1. Lee
      Me too. Thanks for stopping by and giving me your well wishes.
      You know, I forgot to mention it in my post, but while I read the email that said I finaled, fireworks were exploding in the harbor near our house. It was quite dramatic.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Jacqui
      Thanks for your congrats. and for recognizing how hard it is to keep at it. I’m growing thicker skin and I figure years from now the hard parts will look like small speed bumps.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Marsha
      Thank you for your kind words. I’m so happy that this manuscript received attention.
      Hope your editing is going well.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I’m delighted for you, Jo-Ann. I remember Black Cat Blues. The characters are so strong and the story line intriguing. I can’t wait to read the whole book. Hmm… those fireworks must be good omens. Keep us posted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

