After the Poisoned Apple

Anton Peck, 1941, in a Dutch version of Grimm's Fairtales ( De Sprookjes Van Grimm, Utrecht 1941) The original caption read: "De oude Lucifer is met Speelhans aan het spelen."
by Anton Pieck, 1941, found in a Dutch version of Grimm’s Fairtales ( De Sprookjes Van Grimm, Utrecht 1941)
The original caption read: “De oude Lucifer is met Speelhans aan het spelen.”

Do you like your stories neat, or a little messy? Comforting or terrifying?

Me?  I like mine raw and twisted.

What can you expect for someone who grew up with Grimm’s Fairy tales, a 200 years old collection of  disturbing tales that rattled and inspired the imagination of generations.   National Geographic explains:

“The stories collected by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm in the early 1800s serve up life as generations of central Europeans knew it—capricious and often cruel. The two brothers, patriots determined to preserve Germanic folktales, were only accidental entertainers.” (National Geographic site)

Once upon a time, I wanted to do graduate work in folklore, but I decided eating was more important and got a teaching certificate instead. Decades later, I find the pull of the archetypal stories as intriguing as when I first heard them, and looking at Anton Pieck’s illustrations sends my imagination into a wilderness of vivid images.

Stories – Since the dawn of time they’ve brought us together. More than words, more than pictures, they hold an essence of truth blended with imagination that is spellbinding.

…my rambling thoughts on this April day. Do you have a favorite fairy tale? I’m torn between Hansel and Gretel,and  Little Red Riding Hood. The darkness of the woods and the evil that lurks within  puts me on edge and makes me want to write a thriller.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “After the Poisoned Apple”

  1. I think my favorite fairy tale is Cinderella, the little servant girl who sits among the ashes, transformed into an elegant beauty, winning the love of her prince. There have been so many versions – from ‘Singeli’s Silver Slippers’, a Swedish tale in my book of Elves and Fairies, to Pretty Woman and My Fair Lady. I think its timeless appeal is in the transformation of an imperfect present to a place in time where all our desires are fulfilled. As Liza sings “All I want is a room somewhere, far away from the cold night air, with one enormous chair – Oh wouldn’t it be luverly? Lots of chocolates for me to eat. Lots of coal making lots of heat…who takes good care of me, oh wouldn’t it be luverly?” I think we all wish for a magic wand.

    Like

    1. Daniela
      I love Cinderella too! It fascinates me that so many versions of these stories evolve through different cultures. They must meet our needs in some fundamental way. I know I could do with a magic wand, Prince Charming and a box of chocolate.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. We certainly need our happy ever after fairy tales these days. Guess I’ve been a romance junky since I was a kid. I remember pulling the neighborhood kids together to perform Cinderella in someone’s driveway. (I directed and played Cinderella.) I was in maybe 3rd grade. 🙂 What about the Grim TV show? The writers do a good job of intermingling sometimes not so well-known stories with present day. Not as fond of the Sunday show Once Upon A Time, but it plays with the fairy tale motif, too. Jo-Ann, those are scary pictures, and if they set your immagination running, goodness, I don’t want to see what you dream about! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      I agree we need some fairy tales. My heart goes out to the people of Boston. Can you imagine how awful it would be to be locked inside your own home, knowing that a manhunt is going on outside your doors? Uggh. A true horror story.
      Believe it or not I’m not hooked up with network TV so I haven’t watched either of the shows you mention, but they do sound interesting.
      I make a point of not remembering my dreams. lol. But I do like Anton Pieck’s illustrations.
      Wishing you all the best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Wow, Jo-Ann! You don’t watch TV? That would certain provide more time to write. But I’m pretty much a TV junky. I like my shows and plan things around them. And I’m grateful for the record button. LOL

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      I’m a TV junkie too, in my mind, but I’ve been cutting back. Just seems to be so much to do when you retire. lol
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

