Gifts of Spring

I’m drafting the third book in the Nederlander series, revising the first and steeping the others. Ideas flow through my head, and I worry I’ll never catch them on paper. A story I won’t start until June keeps nibbling at me in the middle of the night. I’m busy, but it’s all good.DSCN2136[1]

This weekend the sun shone on the west coast, bringing the cherry blossoms to bloom and rain drenched fleece wearing locals out for fresh air and the first taste of Spring. I took some pictures of our trip to Englishman River Falls Provincial Park.

DSCN2149[1]

DSCN2140[1]DSCN2148[1]  DSCN2143[1]

3 quotes from Donald Maass (Writing the Breakout Novel)

“Writing is, if nothing else, an act of discovery.” (pg. 244)

“A great romance novel makes love matter more than anything else in the world.”  (pg. 242)

“Facing a moral choice is perhaps one of the most powerful conflicts any novel can present.” (pg. 238)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Gifts of Spring”

    1. Hi Judy
      Never to busy for that:) How’s the sunshine on your end?
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Glad you’re getting a little spring-like weather. We’ve had an unexpectedly cool spell. Good thing is it includes rain, which we need.
    I’ve given you a Sunshine Award, Jo-Ann, so I hope you’ll check out my blog tomorrow. Couldn’t find an email address to let you know.
    I’m interested in your continuing with the Nederlander series. You haven’t sold book one yet, right? I’ve generally heard it’s best to hold off until you sell the first one. Of course, that was before we had the option of going Indie, which is so super now. I’m curious about your thoughts on this issue.
    You’ve got the most amazing pictures here. You know my heart is in New England, but we do have some of these terffic west coast pictures hanging on our walls. Oh, to be able to easily see these wonders of nature.
    Last comment. I promise. Maas’s quote about moral choices is so excellent. I must put that over my computer. Next book must have that as the main conflict.
    Love your blog, Jo-Ann.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Thank you for all your comments.
      And a Sunshine Award! Oh my…what an honor, especially from you. My website email is: connect@jo-anncarson.com btw.
      Maass amazes me. I underlining almost every line when I read his book. I know some people consider him too theoretical, but I love his clarity and vision.
      The series question is a good one. I consider my Nederlander series my first step, or steps — my practice arena. I’m hoping by the time I finish it I’ll have figured out a good chunk of the craft, or at least enough to deliver an intriguing romantic thriller. Right now I’m tinkering with pacing and trying to be more careful with how much backstory I drop at the beginning. (I imagine myself holding a doggy back for any slips and cut where I can.)
      I’ve heard that it’s often the second or third book in a series that sells the series. Isn’t that what happened for you? What are your thoughts.
      Are you counting down yet??
      Thanks again
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

