Changing my Writing Space

DSCN2098

When the sap runs I change

Don’t know why

Maybe, it’s an earthy

connection

enhanced by

a genetic

spring cleaning obsession

or

a butterfly wing

flapping

in the wind.

When the sap runs

I roll up the sleeves

In this case, my husband PJs.

He put in a new pendant light in my writing loft that adds a warm glow to the space, and hooks on the wall to mount a white board beside my desk. I love the changes.

Currently, I have my Nederlander Series  board mounted (i.e., pic on the right). It’s my half mowed lawn. I can see how far I’ve gotten, and how far I’ve got to go in the six story Romantic Suspense saga about a family that fights international art crime. I  check on the interaction of characters, and plot lines and  most importantly revisit the premises I’m working with.

I know a light and a board may not sound like big changes, but in my writing space/world they’re huge. Thanks PJ. I’ll make strawberry pavlova to celebrate with lots of whip cream.

DSCN2099

DSCN2100

The other two changes I made this week are:

1. the color of the blog (from pink to blue) just for fun, and

2. the wording of my tagline. I figure if you want to know what I write you can read my website, so I ditched the line about writing dangerous love stories. What I need for a “hook” here is a descriptor of what my blog is about.  After more than a year of writing it, I decided on a warning: “Caution – This blog may contain uncensored opinion, wacky observations and the occasional goose.” I could have said moose, but I thought goose was better. I think the line sums it up. What do you think?

Spring is a time of change. I hope you enjoy yours as much as I’m enjoying mine.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Changing my Writing Space”

  1. I love the new color, Jo-Ann. I’m a blue kind of person. And the new tag line, especially “the occassional goose.” 🙂 Aren’t you lucky to have space for your white board. I have a large space, but not wall space.
    Yes spring means clean out those closets. We’re going to have to. We need to make room for a new hot water heater. There’s no space to take the old one out or replace it with a new one. It’s currently in the attic, and AC stuff is between the heater and the opening. I may get my raised bathroom counter out of all this. Something I’ve wanted since visiting a bed and breakfast in Washington with this lovely, high counter with so much space in the drawers. Was just going to go on wanting, but since I have to get a contractor in for the closet stuff, may just have to give in and go for it. (Think I see a blog topic coming on. LOL)

    Like

    1. Marsha
      OH, I’m so glad you like the blue look and my “goose.”
      I’m also happy that you’re giving in to your dream of a raised bathroom counter. Life is short. In our cabin we have a marble vanity sink unit that I absolutely love. Wish I could bring it to town, but there’s no where for it to go. Beauty is in the details. And home…well, I guess home is in the accumulation of cherished details.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      B Well
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Marsha
      I’m so sorry to hear this. I’ve lost commenters because of this problem, but I don’t know what to do about it. I hate when systems that are meant to protect you actually kick you in the butt. Thanks you for your determination.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I love your new tag line. ‘Warning’ and ‘uncensored’ jumped out at me but then the ‘wacky’ and ‘goose’ tweaked my funny bone. Now I wear a lot of blue, but I’m a lavender person really. Of course to get to lavender you have to mix pink and blue. Am I making any sense?The pendant light and white board I’d like to copy in my room. My lighting is poor and I really could use a bigger bulletin board and/or a white board. But first some major de-cluttering is in order. Perhaps de-papering would be a better word:)

    Like

    1. Daniela
      Thanks for stopping by. The light costs $20.00 in Ikea. Quite the deal. I do love my white board.
      Glad you like my tag line, but after the workshop on Saturday I am rethinking it.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

