Caution Signs

SAMSUNGTaking in the ambiance of Granville Island, the smell of perfectly brewed latte, chatter of hipster Vancouver shoppers choosing perfect fruit from the market and the sight of beautifully crafted sailboats moored outside, just in from the Pacific ocean, I stumbled upon this sign, “Warning: Seagulls can be aggressive. Please use caution when eating outside.” Really! A beware of seagulls sign. What next?

Not that I haven’t had my run-ins with birds. I’ve been dive bombed by bats in the middle of the night as I stumbled along a path to the outhouse in Muskoka cottage country, given the fly pass and squawk routine by crows in the spring fearing for their nests, and yes I’ve had the west coast initiation of gull poop landing on my clothes. I’ve watched falcons sore on the Haida Gwaii and bald eagles fall from high entwined with their mates. I’ve listened to owls in the night. I’ve had my bird experiences, but I’ve never had a gut wrenching fear of bird aggression. Am I missing something?

Or is it a sign of the times?

Perhaps it should read: “Beware of living.”

What do you think?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

12 thoughts on “Caution Signs”

  1. I have limited experience with sea birds, Jo-Ann. However, on the Texas coast around Galveston and Padre Island, I have had some gulls be really agressive. It was best to toss a sample for them and then get out of the way. Maybe some of our Texas brids have made their way to the northwest. 🙂
    BTW, my new website went live, and today is my first blog post. http://www.marsharwest.com (not sure why this isn’t blue!)
    Quite fun hearing from folks after Bemis Promotions (who I love) clicked or whatever so I could see the posts. Just skimmed the manual for how to keep up with the web site. Oh, my goodness! I hope I survive. I managed my old site at GoDaddy when I started, but while I was busy writing and editing, they did several updates so I was a bit lost. Guess I’ll figure it out, hopefully before I need to post next week. 🙂
    Exciting times though. Wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Like

    1. Marsha
      Congratulations on your new website and blog. I love both and left a comment on your blog post. Haven’t been able to figure out how to: 1) follow or subscribe to your blog, or 2)how to tweet your post (there are no share options I could find). You might want to ask your admin about that.
      I’m learning from my readers that there are aggressive birds out there, for sure.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Thanks, Jo-Ann. I thought the FB and Twitter button at the top would let you do that. But hadn’t thought about signing up for it. I’ll definitely ask about that. We’ve got the newsletter place, but I don’t think that would be it. I’ll be checking that out. Not too many glitches for the first time. LOL

    Like

  3. Fear of birds is a real phobia. I have a few tales about our feathered friends, both domestic and wild, but the one I’ll tell here is bird to bird.
    During a wild winter west coast storm at Pacific Rim National Park, my husband and I watched a gull harass a bald eagle. The eagle was sitting on a rock minding its own business. I guess the eagle thought enough was enough. It grabbed the gull as it swooped too close, pulled the feathers from the gull and munched it for lunch.
    That being said, perhaps the diner just didn’t want to replace the food customers lost because of the antics of the gulls.

    Like

    1. Hi Pat
      I’ve seen birds dive at eagles but I’ve never seen them retaliate. Quite the sight.
      And yeah, you’re probably right, the sign had something to do with protecting business as opposed to protecting people.
      Hope you’re enjoying your new writing digs.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Interesting post, Jo-Ann. I have not seen too much bird to human aggression, but did see two eagles make off with a seagull’s lunch the other day on Rath Trevor beach.It, the ‘lunch’, was pretty big and not moving so I don’t actually know who bagged it first. With herring season just beginning there will be some very well-fed birds of all sizes duking it out in the surf. Great fun to watch.

    Like

    1. Hi Daniela
      Thanks for stopping by. They are fun to watch on the beach aren’t they. I keep catching them snacking on starfish and they look so funny, in an ugly ogre kind of way.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  5. Hi Jo-Ann, My cottage is on a small bay off Georgian Bay near Parry Sound. One day, I watched a gull feeding on carrion. Along came a crow, and chased it off to a nearby rock. Then along came a vulture and chased off the crow who chased the gull off its rock and onto the beach. When the vulture was done, the crow moved back in. When the crow was done, the gull picked the skeleton clean. Nature at her finest.

    Like

    1. Hi Joan
      Great story.
      I love watching nature too. It swallows me up and caresses my soul, and I don’t care if that sounds hokey, because it’s true.
      Lately, I’ve been watching the ducks and geese in the estuary. In the summer at our cabin I watch dragonflies. There’s nothing more relaxing.
      I love the cottage country in Ontario. So many good memories.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and adding your story.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

