I’m a “Great Expectations” Finalist

KNOCKOUT

The writer’s journey to publishing is long, windy and riddled with jagged pot holes that do their best to hold you down, but every now and then a brilliant ray of sunshine illuminates the path, and when it hits the blue pencil hugging wanderer every ounce of self-doubt evaporates in its warmth. A distant horizon of success is glimpsed like a desert mirage. It calls to her.

When I heard, yesterday, that I’m a finalist in the North Texas RWA’s, Great Expectations Contest that writer’s sunshine flowed through me. Woo hoo! I partied all day (as in lots of chocolate and dinner out with PJ).

The “GE” is a respected contest that judges the first twenty five pages of a manuscript. So I have great feedback on a good chunk of my wip to work on, and hopes of placing in the top 3 (out of 4 finalists). The judge for the Romantic Suspense category is Libby Murphy (Entangled Publishing). A day later, it’s still hard to breath.

In out. In out…

The manuscript I submitted, Fighting Fear, is the second in my Nederlander Series. A “category suspense” set in Holland, it tells the story of a young woman trying to prove herself to her family by finding a lost Vermeer painting. A former lover, gypsy curses, and a couple of murders get in her way. It’s quite the adventure.

In out. In out… (Please people, take your mind out of the gutter. I’m trying to breathe)

And what could be better than being a finalist? Finding out that my daughter’s urban fantasy also finaled (in the specialized category). And while I’m being a proud Mommy, I’ll mention that my other daughter is signed with McGraw Hill publishers to write part of their next Grade 12 Biology textbook. It’s been an exciting day. (And no rejections:)

Lunch: Purdy’s hedgehogs.

Dinner:

DSCN2085

Spinach salad

DSCN2087

Prime Rib and vegies

DSCN2093Dessert

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

14 thoughts on “I’m a “Great Expectations” Finalist”

  1. WooHoo, Jo-Ann. Congratulaitons and enjoy the celebrations and for you whole family! I didn’t realize your daughters also wrote. That’s got to be super cool for you. Wasn’t going to post emails this morning, but had to stop when I read yours and share in the excitement. Book sounds really good, and I’d love to read it when it comes out. Know you’ll get there and Entangled is a good company. Fingers crossed for you and sending all those other positive vibes your way. You know NTRWA is my chapter. Pictures look super, too. We’re celebrating my signing Sunday evening. We have a coupon for a great steak and fishhouse. Best wishes, sweetie. I’m doing happy dances for you.

    Like

    1. Thanks Marsha
      Yes I’m dancing.
      Your signing? I missed that information. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Who did you sign with? I’m dancing for you here.
      It’s a good year, and it’s only February:)
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Muse It Up Publishing. Announcement in Good News tomorrow on CNN. Summer release date. I agree about Feb. and 2013. I don’t know what’s in the air, but we’ve had 3 new sales almost on top of each other in NT and the PRO loop has had two, not counting mine. For some reason when I put it out the other day, I forgot them. What’s that about? Just brain fuzzies from the excitement! Will post there later today or tomorrow.
    I’m dancing to that old Donna Summers song, I will survive. (Gotta be the theme song for writers, hanging in there all the while.) What are you dancing to? LOL

    Like

    1. Marsha
      I’m swaying more than dancing to K.D. Lang’s version of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelluliah.” Like your survival jig though. I can picture you in the Texan sunshine boogying away. lol
      A summer release date! How exciting. More than my head would be getting befuddled. It’s such good news. Which one of your manuscripts? I can’t wait to read it.
      Best wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. That’s some serious music, Jo-Ann! You’ve already moved into praying mode. LOL Don’t blame you in the least, as long as you celebrated finalling enough.
        I sold my fourth book, VERMONT ESCAPE. It’s the one I worked over all summer, using Margie Lawson’s packets getting ready to go to to CO in Sept. Going to the mountains with Margie is a trip for sure. Many of us who’ve been there talk about “Margie-izing” our work. She gave me the skills to fix the things people had told me didn’t work in the ms. I’m forever grateful. VE comes out as an e-book first and later as a paperback. I’ll let you know when my new web site is launched and the blog. Super exciting for sure. Keeping all parts of my body crossed for you to win the big one with your entry in GE! 🙂

        Like

      2. Hi Marsha
        Can’t wait to read VE and I want both formats (I”m hoping to get you to sign the hard copy at some future conference). Margie sounds wonderful. I can’t get over how many published writers in our chapter help us along. They’re always there to teach, mentor and encourage. The RWA is a fantastic organization.
        I’ve never been to Vermont. I hope to see some pics on your blog.
        best
        Jo-Ann

        Like

    1. Joan
      Thank you for your well wishes
      oooo I hadn’t thought about my bra straps. I guess I have to start some wardrobe revisions. lol
      Yes having lots of writers around is fun.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Hooray for you, Jo-Ann! I am so happy to hear that you finaled in ‘Great Expectations’. I love your Nederland series so I’m sure you will get an excellent results.You are in a finaling mode, first the Daphne du Maurier contest, and now this one. Way to go! Wonderful news about your daughters also.

    Like

  4. Totally awesome for you and your daughters!!! Guess I’d better get my act in gear.
    Purdy’s hedgehogs…my favourite….mmmmmmm….
    Pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

