Is there magic in storytelling?

One year old, and what am I doing???

I asked Santa for “The Recipe”. You know the one  for writing a really good book. Not just one that sells well, although that would be nice, but one you can hold in your hand and say, “Yah, I got it right this time.”  I figured if anyone could get his hands on The Recipe, he could. But like my five year old granddaughter  told me, “Sometimes Santa forgets.”

After a week away from the keyboard I’m excited to be back pouring the characters in my head onto the page, like warmed up turkey gravy. Gotta watch out for the lumps. I have no recipe, but many scraps of  ideas mingling in my head.

John Steinbeck said:

“If there is a magic in story writing, and I am convinced there is, no one has ever been able to reduce it to a recipe that can be passed from one person to another. The formula seems to lie solely in the aching urge of the writer to convey something he feels important to the reader.” (John Steinbeck, Paris Review, via Brain Picking site)

And who would argue with Steinbeck on writing?

My Anniversary

My blog is one year old. I’ve covered a range of topics and still am not sure what my focus is. lol.  It’s become a reflection of my life on this side of the page. Sometimes I’m muddling through writing theory, sometimes I’m watching characters in the real world and trying to figure out their motivation and other times I’m traveling. I’d like to thank all my readers for hanging in there on the journey. According to my stats, as of today I’ve had 10,373 views. Now I’m not sure if that includes the views from my followers or not…but I like the number.

Happy New Year.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “Is there magic in storytelling?”

  1. Hey, Jo-Ann. Congrats on a year of blogs and those great numbers! My friend Jerrie tells me “they” calculate everyone who looks at the blog whether or not they post. I can’t imagine looking and not posting, but hey, I guess others are better time managers than I. 🙂 Kind of like with a book, I get caught up with the characters I meet on a particular blog. I like keeping up with them.
    “They” (again with that word) say you should decide whether your blog is for writers or everyone else. I’m not sure that will work for me. I mean, we’re writers now. That’s part of who we are. Not that I see myself doing a whole blog on “how to” by any means, even though I’ve learned stuff along the way. Your mixture works fine for me.
    I’ve enjoyed your comments and those of others who post here. Happy New Year, and may 2013 be the year we both get published!

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Happy New Years!
      I’m with you all the way.
      Thanks for stopping by and enriching my blog with your thoughtful comments.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      ps – I think I’m writing for readers not writers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

