The Achingly Sweet Echoes of Christmas

On Christmas eve my family would sing carols. We had little red books with music in them which I cherish to this day, like relics from the past full of magic and memories.  We belted out all the classics with great enthusiasm. My favorite was Away in a Manger. I can’t carry a tune or hit a note for the life of me, but I loved being part of the ritual, part of the music.  I swear those feelings are embedded in my core, so that when I hear the old songs I remember those nights with my family, and the joy of us all being together.

O Holy Night was reserved for my sister, who opened a children’s Christmas concert singing it solo. She has a sweet clear voice that reaches those impossibly high notes and makes you feel like you’re looking into heaven. When I hear it I think of her.

And so I looked up a few renditions of the song today. You know they do a pretty good job (i.e., The Celtic Women and Nana Mouskouri) but no one can sing it  as sweetly to my ear as my sister.

and in French:

Wishing you a season filled with wonderful memories of Christmases past, mingling with new memories of Christmas now.

Blessings

(Note: this post was inspired by Emma`s My Favorite Christmas Songs and Films)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “The Achingly Sweet Echoes of Christmas”

  1. Ah, Jo-Ann. What nice memories. We’ll have Christmas brunch at my older daughter’s. That’s becoming a new tradition. It seems to work best with the little ones. Everyone celebrates at their house on their own and then we come together for the family gifts.
    I get to have Thanksgiving most years, until I decide to turn it over to one of them. One of the sons-in-law has indicated he’d like to learn how to make the turkey from my husband, who everyone contends makes the best turkey ever. 🙂
    So Merry Christmas to you and your family. I do enjoy your blog. Hopefully, this next year, I’ll have one of my own, and you’ll be willing to stop by as a guest and as a visitor.
    (It’s a test of faith to celebrate this year given what happened in Connecticutt last Friday. All we can do is pray for strength for the families of all affected.)

    Like

    1. Dear Marsha
      Thank you for stopping by. Your brunch sounds wonderful. Our family gathers on Boxing Day. The wee ones are excited about seeing Santa and I can’t wait to see their precious little faces. It’s a wonderful season.
      Your turkey dinners sound awesome We are blessed to have large and loving families.
      My thoughts and prayers go to all who are alone or morning during this season, and especially to those torn apart by the travesty in Connecticut.
      Merry Christmas
      Jo-Ann
      ps and I can’t wait to read your blog.

      Like

  2. A lovely post, Jo-Ann. Music is such an integral part of Christmas. This year I heard the Victoria Symphony and children’s choir do ‘Walking on air’ from (The Polar Express). The children’s sweet voices were layered between waves of violin music. It was pure magic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

