Pondering Immortality

The purpose of my blog is to share with you what goes on in my life as a writer. My mind chases all sorts of ideas here there and everywhere. This week I thought about immortality. Seriously.

 

02jellyfish1-articleLarge-v3

Jellyfish are not only the best hitchhikers in the world,  they are also immortal. Kinda creepy. Makes me want to write Science Fiction. I quote Nathaniel Rich, New York Times:

On Immortality:

“It [the jelly fish] appeared to age in reverse, growing younger and younger until it reached its earliest stage of development, at which point it began its life cycle anew…”

On it’s silent invasion:

“…the immortal jellyfish has rapidly spread throughout the world’s oceans in what Maria Pia Miglietta, a biology professor at Notre Dame, calls “a silent invasion.” The jellyfish has been “hitchhiking” on cargo ships…able to survive, and proliferate, in every ocean in the world. It is possible to imagine a distant future in which most other species of life are extinct but the ocean will consist overwhelmingly of immortal jellyfish, a great gelatin consciousness everlasting.”

Feel like a swim?

The way I see immortality:

3 good things:

  1. I’d finally learn how to parallel park.
  2. ditto French
  3. More time to love

3 bad things:

  1. I’d get really really really bored with the rambling in my head
  2. I’d lose the excuse of not having enough time to …
  3. hmmmmmm

How about you? What are your thoughts on immortality and gelatinous consciousness?

If I was immortal, I know I’d be spending my time, as I am now, writing.

“The heart of human excellence often begins to beat when you discover a pursuit that absorbs you, frees you, challenges you, and gives you a sense of meaning, joy and passion.”

(Marc and Angel Hack Life)

Have a great week.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Pondering Immortality”

  1. I’d be a lot less stressed about having enough time to get everything done. My shoulders would probably stop hiking up. I’d also be pretty assured of having the time to finally get it “right.” Always a goal for me. LOL Last quote is lovely, Jo-Ann.
    I have to share this post with my 3 1/2 year old grandson. He loves jellyfish. His first word was “ish” until he could get the “f” sound. Then he turned to Manta Rays. He has numerous plastic ones. He refers to them as “Mr. Ray.” We all think he’s going to be some sort of biologist.
    I’m back to expecting only the weekly post from you. Think the almost daily ones from you when you were in Italy got me to expecting that. But who could manage that in the real word? 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      Your grandson sounds darling. I bet he will be a biologist. I can’t wait to see my three at Christmas. It’s a grand time of year for us.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing my stories.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I love your quote, “The heart of human excellence…” My thoughts about a gelatinous immortality? I’d like to be a jellyfish. But more seriously, I like the concept of reincarnation. We will keep running into old friends, and get to polish our writing skills in perpetuity…

    Like

Leave a Reply

