Wouldn’t slopping coffee be more productive?

On Slopping…

There’s an opening for the night shift at the local Tim Hortons (a quintessential Canadian coffee shop).

I actually read the sign. Twice. Seriously, pouring coffee has is perks. Think of the wild people I’d meet;  angst  sliding off  wanderers coming in from the street to take a break from their tragic lives;  the heat from star crossed lovers meeting in the wee hours of the night, the echoes of love from friends sharing double doubles. In Timmys anything can happen, and does.

Yup. Slopping coffee has its advantages. I wouldn’t even have to be creative like a barista. There’s no  ghost designs floating on steamed milk at Hortons.  I’d just have to be able to say, “For here or to go,” with a straight face.

But no, that’s not my path.  I sit in my loft, grumbling on this dark rainy morning. The November blues.

It’s been one of those weeks.  Coming to the climax (in my story), my characters are pulling me in one solid direction and that’s  nice for a change. I should be happy. But the west coast dreariness, a mixture of  dampness and dismal skies so dark and close they threaten to swallow you up whole is seeping into my bones and my mood. Tuscany seems a lifetime away.

Oh, this is a fun post. But with writers you get the good and the bad.

Strong Gale Warning

I’ve been working on a chase scene  off the west coast of Canada.  My characters start out with  in “strong gale” warning conditions that worsen to “storm”. Such fun. The water’s  dark and the waves crest and tumble over and over on themselves releasing a spray that diminishes visibility. Lines of foam form in the direction of the wind which howls through the rigging.

…And the worst is yet to come.

November on the coast is always interesting.

Have a great week and Happy Thanksgiving to my American friends.

 

 

Notes: This picture from the SetSail website shows the conditions  of gale force wind warning.

 

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Wouldn’t slopping coffee be more productive?”

    1. Hi Judy
      LOL You’ll have to keep me posted on your light.
      I kind of like the moodiness of November, as much as I complain about it. I think it’s from spending years on the Haida Gwaii. The subtle shades of grey intrigue me.
      Thanks for sharing
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I would think slopping coffee would provide all sorts of inspiration. Hmmm….that gave me a plot idea. Thanks! It’s so nice when characters cooperate and let the writer in on where they intend to take the plot! Yes? Wishing you success with the completion of your WIP.

    Like

    1. Denise
      Thank you. And I’m wishing you good luck with your new idea. I love how they burn inside as they ferment.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Is that a Canadian turn of phrase? “Slopping” coffee. LOL I thought you meant spilling it over the top of your cup. We’ll finally hit fall here in Fort Worth. Trees are really strutting their stuff with glorious colors, and the best part is the temps have dipped. Remember now just a week and a half ago it reached 80. I wasn’t much of a happy camper. Good luck with finishing your WIP. Mine is finished–as in got to the end, but failed to keep up with dates, so I’m doing a complete read through putting in dates, rearranging things, and adding pages–totally left out Thanksgiving. Since it’s my favorite holiday, not sure how I did that. Have a good rest of the weekend.

    Like

    1. Marsha
      Congratulations on reaching the end of your manuscript! I’m hovering at my climax. Not a bad place to be. lol. But choreographing fight scenes is hard. My wip is a very rough draft, so I’ll be spending a lot of time revising soon. Love it though, the feeling of creating something from nothing. Joined the Sisters in Crime this week.
      “Slopping” is my own term. It gave me the image of the coffee spilling, which fists because I’m a on the clutzy side.
      Glad to hear you’re enjoying your fall. We’re losing the last of our leaves from the Poplar trees, and the mornings are darn cold.
      I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.
      all the best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

