Media Agnosticism – Is there an App for that?

My Weird and Wonderful Blogging  Life:

I am one of those weird people who likes blogging. The immediacy of the writing platform intrigues me, and holds me captive to its whims.  I like knowing right away whether what I’m writing is of interest to my readers (through stats, comments, emails tweets and word of mouth). But alas… <hand to my brow in a Shakespearean sweep of sentimentality> I need to work on my manuscript. So this week I haven’t blogged, but I’ve been averaging 2,000 words a day on my manuscript and that feels good.  So my new plan is to blog once a week on Thursdays.

But you know what they say about plans.

And, that being said, my stats blew me away this morning. Yesterday, I hit 81! I haven’t been writing. What’s that about? You’re more popular when you don’t write? I sat up in my chair, with my morning blurry eyes, and punched keys. Stumble Upon (a social media site that informs people of what’s “hot”) picked up my last post about my Halloween nightmare and brought in 38 readers. Where the others came from I don’t know. The cyber world spins in interesting ways. But which ever direction it turns, it sucks me back in with the force of a black hole. Am I complaining? No. I just wish there was a map available to writers: “How to do it all and reach  readers.” That would sell.

His Crystal Blues

The rain was pouring down so hard that only people who truly like the west coast, or are crazy, were out in it. I’m one of the former, dressed in Goretex and sporting a hat and an umbrella I was enjoying that brisk freshness in the air which only comes with storms.  The skies were dark and foreboding and few people were out.

As I was leaving a French cafe I saw a stooped elderly man with a cane approaching. I held the door open for him. He went through slowly with a gait so stiff I could almost feel his pain. He was alone. I had to say something. “It sure is raining.”

He turned to me with his crystal blue eyes that spoke of years of  living and said, “The rhubarb need it.”

The earnestness in his voice made me want to laugh, but I didn’t. I smiled, and he hobbled in to take a seat in the warmth of the cafe.

Gotta love the rain.

On my bedside table this week:

Better Living Through Plastic Explosives by Zsuzsi Gartner (Giller finalist!) (London, Penguin, 2011)

I confided in a writing friend that I don’t like reading or writing short stories, so gave me this book to read. OMG. It’s powerful, satirical, funny and thought provoking in a bone crunching kinda way. Try this line out for a taste: “Her face she tells herself, like a Zen koan. The look on one lip smiling.” (p. 191) Loving it, and will humbly now refrain from saying I don’t like short stories.

Hidden Agenda by Karla Lennox (Harlequin Superromance)

I took an interesting course on the sixth sense by this multi-published author and wanted to read one of her books. Her prose is so fluid it melts in your ears and the characters  so well defined they have edges. <sigh> Someday I’ll get there. A fun romantic suspense read.

Media Agnostic?

It’s a new term to me, but not to the cyber-world. To be a writer and media agnostic means that I won’t  rely on print publishers, but will use any number of platforms to get my writing to the reader. It’s the message and not the container that’s important. I like the term. It’s catchy, but scary at the same time. The issue of discoverability haunts me.

Anyone can upload a story to Amazon quickly, easily and cheaply, but that doesn’t mean anyone will read it. People are flooding the market with crap, and how can one hope to be noticed in the swill?  (That is assuming that I’m not part of the swill) Hmmmm. As Steve Jobs pointed out you can’t connect the dots when you’re in the picture. It will be fun to look back to this moment ten years from now. In the mean time – I need an app. I feel like a caveman.

Back to my manuscript and the big question: Who can I kill today?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “Media Agnosticism – Is there an App for that?”

    1. Judy
      I do. Her writing is amazing.Thanks for lending me the book.I’m sure she’d be very interesting to talk to.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. I love reading your blogs, Jo-Ann, and feel I’ve gotten to know you through them. I agree SM in all it’s forms can be addictive and fun. Finding a balance is important. I haven’t started my own blog yet, but am chomping at the bit to. I’m holding off until I have an offer of a contract or until I decide to heck with this, I’m going Indie. For now–other than commenting on others’ sites–I need to focus on writing. Pushing right now to finish book 6–finish as in very, very rough draft. LOL So I’m good with you only posting once or twice a week. Gives you more time to write, and you know what? Gives me more time to write, too. LOL Let’s both get back to work!

    Like

    1. Marsha
      Congratulations on getting so many words on the page. Woohoo! I’m excited that the draft is almost done.
      I’m creeping up to the black moment with great anticipation in my manuscript, and it too is very rough.
      I really appreciate you following my blog and commenting. I too feel like I’ve gotten to know you. I hope you do decide to blog one day.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

