Getting back to normal ???

Our trip home was relatively easy, but long. It took 15 hours to get to Vancouver and then another hour to get home via a shuttle bus and float plane.

I’ve been trying to shake off my traveling cloak and acclimatize myself to my normal life. But then what’s normal?

That’s what I love most about traveling. Being away gives me a better perspective on life, or at least a different one. I’ve come back refreshed, with a more relaxed attitude about what’s important. In terms of my writing, my characters have been playing in my head for thirty days, and I can’t wait to get them back onto the page.

I was awake a good part of the first night. About two in the morning I got a craving for Timmy’s which seems odd after a month of drinking gourmet coffee and dining on  fine cuisine, but that’s what I wanted. I fought the temptation until six. Then I snuck out, so I wouldn’t wake PJ and see him make a face when I told him what I was up to.

Did you know that when you visit Tim Horton’s at dawn there’s a local paper on every table. Nice eh! I sat reading the local news, about a horrific car crash on the Malahat mountain pass and the big Big Bird hullaballoo in the states. I devoured an egg and bacon biscuit with a French Vanilla coffee which tasted oddly wonderful. Home.

The sun rose on our sleepy town. I went for a long walk along the seawall. The deciduous trees are turning vibrant shades of yellow, orange and red, off set by dark green conifers. The ocean was still. Boats of all shapes and sizes were moored and silent. The coastal mountains looked regal in the distance. I drank in the quietness of my west coast life.

A few walkers were out. Almost every one of them wished me a good morning. It’s good to be home.

Note: pics from my cell phone.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “Getting back to normal ???”

  1. You live in such a beautiful area, Jo-Ann. Thanks for sharing these pics. In my mind more beautiful than any you shared from your trip. Just saying. 🙂
    Can’t believe you were gone for 30 days! Was everything okay when you got home?

    Like

    1. Marsha
      I love your response. Where I live is beautiful and it’s great to be home.
      I think everything is okay. I feel a bit at loose ends pulling the strings together, catching up with people and mail. Both our cats survived. We’re into black ice weather (right at the freezing point) which seems abrupt because I’ve been in the Mediterranean. All is well.
      Hope Texas is treating you well
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

