You can never get away from it

Your past.It never leaves you:)

Just when you think you’ve left it behind, “Kapowee,” it slaps you in the face. “Hello!”

When it comes to life, I’m often a slow learner, but I thought I mastered this lesson earlier on. But, that “Kapowee,” punch keeps hitting me.

Here are two recent examples:

A group of four women in our writing chapter decided to meet to critique each other’s work. Our common interest is writing. At least that’s what I thought. When we got talking about our stories, it turns out that three of us, including myself, are the same age and grew up in Toronto. That’s 3,000 miles away from where we were sitting. “Kapowee. ” The Twilight Zone music begins playing in my head.

Then I learn through discussing a fictional character that two of us are children of alcoholic parents. Kapowee 2. The Hitchcock theme plays in my head.

So there I am discussing my work with supposed strangers, who in fact have a lot in common with me and my past. Did the universe draw them to me in some mysterious way? I wonder.

Earlier in the year, I was part of an on-line critique group of three, organized by the Kiss of Death Chapter. It didn’t work for me, so I withdrew, but not before I learned that all three of us were breast cancer survivors. Now come on. Three out of three. That beats any stat I’ve heard. The theme to Jaws plays in my head.

Am I suppose to learn something from this Kapowee business?

That’s what really bugs me. I feel like I’m standing in front of a sign post and can’t read the signs. Which direction am I to take? What am I suppose to do? The universe seems to be sending me messages. Or is it?

Some people say there are no coincidences in life. I wonder.

This morning I got punched in the face (literally) when I was swimming laps. A man swam out of his lane and hit me square in the nose and it hurt like hell. Still hurts.  Is that suppose to be a wake up call?

Like I said, I’m a slow learner.

I think I’ll return to the land of my manuscript where pain belongs to fictional characters who’s oweese can be fixed with a bit of ink.

Still, I wonder about the universe.

(The picture is from Granville Island. I chose it because I like it.)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

2 thoughts on “You can never get away from it”

  1. Hey, Jo-Ann, got back late Thursday night from wonderful, week-long Maine vacation with hubby, and I picked up an idea for a book. Kind of cool when that happens. I occassionally checked my regular email, because I knew it would get totally out of control if I didn’t delete a bit as I went along. Never thought to check this one. Duh. The same thing happened here.
    I do think things happen for a reason. I don’t think we are always able to figure that reason out. Certainly not when we’re in the middle of it. That you’re aware of something tugging at you is more than what happens with most folks. Sometimes we are rather oblivious.
    This is a great post. Could be a lead in to a paranormal work. You have the music going and everything. Granville Island sounds like an intriguing place. Okay, gotta go hit that delete key some more. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

