Why is Starbuck Swagger so Popular?

It’s an age-old problem for writers. Why is one piece of  writing  preferred over another? Sometimes, it’s obvious. Intriguing sexy titles shoot blog stats skyward.

But putting “sex” aside, what’s it all about? Answer: darned if I know.

For example, my post Contemplating Starbuck Swagger, continues to get hit after hit (141 in total, which is a lot for me). It’s particularly popular in Thailand. Go figure!

My most popular post is, You Gotta Love Trolls (i.e., 148  hits on the first day). I  pulled all the troll lovers out with that one, not realizing that I was referring to a restaurant owned by a man who’s last name is Troll. Who knew so many readers love trolls?

…Back to my coffee issue. Is it the Starbuck part, the swagger part, or my combination that keeps pulling readers into the Starbuck Swagger post? You gotta wonder.

…anyway…that’s what I’m wondering as I listen to the blues and plot my next chapter.

***

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “Why is Starbuck Swagger so Popular?”

  1. Kudos for all the hits, Jo-Ann. That seems like a lot to me. You’re just one writer, not several people commenting on one blog, the way some blogs are set up. Though Kristen Lamb, social media guru, will tell you this is the way to do a blog–tied to you as the author–helping solidify your brand.
    I don’t know what draws the attention. LOL I don’t even remember where I first saw you–CNN probably. While I don’t always respond–I think that’s true–I always read your posts.Wish I could give you a concrete reason–but its more just a feeling of connection. You write RS. I write RS. We live in dissimilar areas. I celebrated with you about being a Daphne finalist.
    Whatever it is, I hope you keep on blogging. I enjoy what you have to say.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      I really appreciate your support. You’ve become my good cyber-buddy and I look forward to meeting you at a conference some day.
      This branding thing is interesting. I like to blog, because I like to write, but I’ve been finding it hard to hit a real core purpose, or theme for this one. I ramble on about my life as a writer, and that kinda works but I wonder if when I publish my readers will want to read about that? I’m not so sure. I’m always interested in a writer’s life, thoughts…process, but then I’m a writer.
      I toy with the idea of writing about my research, but facts can be found elsewhere on the Internet. I can’t ignore the fact that my best stats and responses come from blogs that I write about personal perceptions of whatever.
      I’ve come full circle. I think I’ll continue to ramble about my writing life.
      …back to my new wip
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I think even after you’re pubbed, Jo-Ann, your persoanlity, the things your experiencing as a writer and a person will be interesting to your readers. Keep the faith, and I’ll keep reading and posting. 🙂 As will your other followers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

