3 Reasons I Love Research

I’m struggling with a heat wave (I’m a wimp when the temperature goes over 24 Celsius (75.2 F) and it’s been hitting 30 (86F)!!!) but today it feels cooler, so I should be more productive. I’m getting back into my writing routines after the mind bending experience of RWA12.

Currently I’m attempting to work on two new manuscripts.  I’ll see how that goes.

Anyway…at the moment that means I’m doing a lot of research, and I love research.

Why?

One – I learn things I’d never stumble upon if I didn’t go looking.

For example:

  •  by questioning local musicians about their guitars I learned that most start out on one they found in a closet, or an attic in the home they grew up in. They love their “first” to death and never part with it.  What a lovely detail to make a character come alive.
  • reading several sources I learned that art crime is the fourth largest international crime after drugs, money laundering and illegal arm shipments.
  • there are places high in the mountains on the Haida Gwaii that were left untouched by the ice ages.

Two – It grounds my story while letting my imagination fly.

Each piece of information is like a nugget of gold. When used properly in my story it creates verisimilitude. At the same time it opens up all kinds of ideas in my mind to further the story. How sweet is that!

Three – It enriches my characters, setting and plot.

Each details adds depth to the story. Doing research is like opening a treasure chest for a writer, with layer upon layer of precious gems.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

13 thoughts on “3 Reasons I Love Research”

  1. Great post, interesting facts 🙂

    I can’t help but dislike research. It feels like a necessary step to make character/locations/other seem real, but its a boring step that is also entirely for the benefit of the reader, and doesn’t help me visualise my characters/locations/other any better.

    This is just my opinion- I probably have much to learn!

    -Vera

    Like

    1. Vera
      I love your comment, because you feel so differently than me. It goes to show how different the writing process can be.
      Thanks for stopping by and adding to the dialogue:)
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Let me know how it goes. As I said…I love it. I have to be careful I don’t get so caught up in it that I don’t get back to writing.
      Thanks for adding to the dialogue.
      Best Wishes and happy researching,
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Alexa
      I can believe it. Research for me is a bit like sinking into a hot tub with a good book. Easy to get lost.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I can get caught up in the research and forget to write. Sometimes knowing too much gets in the way of the story. Whether it’s through research or life experiences, I struggle with dumping the whole load on the reader. IMHO, they’ll be better for knowing what I know. LOL I count on CPs who are quick to point out, “Your reader doesn’t need to know this.” I say, “Are you sure?” Must be my educator background overwhelming my creative side. 🙂

    Like

    1. Marsha
      I understand what you’re saying. I fall in love with obscure facts that I’m sure the rest of the planet wants to no, but my friends caution me, “…not so much.” Maybe it is my past life (teaching) trying to break through.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Marsha. I thought you’d get a laugh out of how I wilt when the temp goes above 70.
      All the best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I was being polite, Jo-Ann. 🙂 It’s hitting 103 again today. I’m counting the days untill we escape to Maine and what I’m hoping will be cooler temps–at least at night it will cool for sure. It’s still in the low 80’s at night here. But I do get that 86 is hot for y’all. Hang in there. You’ll at least get fall–we not so much.

    Like

    1. Marsha
      Polite. I like that. It finally cooled a bit. I can’t think when it’s hot, let alone write.
      But when our October rains hit, I’ll be dreaming of these days.
      Maine sounds beautiful.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

