Day 3 – RWA12 (Shaken and Stirred)

I’m having trouble uploading photos, so today is a text day.

Zippity do dah…Zippity day…my ribbon arrived in good time for the awards ceremony. I’ll upload a picture of it, when I get cyberspace to cooperate.

Morning

I took in a Deep POV workshop, a spotlight session  on Grand Central publishing from New York and a bit of the Pitch Witch presentation.  I spent the last half hour before lunch resting on a lounge chair in the shade by the pool. It’s rough being a writer.

Lunch

Our keynote speaker was  New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens. She spoke about us being at a critical point, but the way she sees it, it’s a good place to be. Writers have more freedom and opportunity to publish than ever before. The big shift is not from paper to e-publishing, but from the consumer buying on-line as opposed to in bookstores. It’s rocking the publishing industry.

I sat at a table of eight women. Three were from Vancouver Island. The famous author, Linda Hamilton, sat opposite me, but there was too much noise in the room to hear anything she said. Beside me sat an interesting witch (yes I did say witch) who is an expert on the tarot and how it corresponds with the Briggs-Meyer personalities. It was an interesting lunch.

It was announced that the RWA raised over 50 thousand dollars for literacy in their drive the day before. We watched a video on the development of a documentary on the industry. Both led to clapping and tears in the eyes. The whole luncheon was inspiring.

Earthquakes, Riots and Mickey Mouse. Yes, we have them all here at Annaheim. But most of us are working the conference too hard to notice. What? The earth moved? Really?

Afternoon

I went to one session on series and then it was time for me to take another break. It was either that or go to an AGM. My roomies headed for Disneyland.

The Romance of the Cocktail

I’m not much of a drinker, but I couldn’t resist learning about the history of the cocktail, courtesy of VanGogh vodka. Three drinks later we were all smiling.My favorite was the Pomegranite. Who knew?

Death by Chocolate

I came third in my category and am thrilled. (i.e., category series) What does that mean? I won ten dollars, plus a free course, plus a certificate and bragging rights. I can’t wait to get the feedback from the judges.Darynda Jones won the published Daphne award and is up for the RITA tomorrow night.

…and now it’s time to think about my pitch tomorrow.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

2 thoughts on “Day 3 – RWA12 (Shaken and Stirred)”

Leave a Reply

