RWA12 Countdown…

I leave tomorrow for the RWA conference (i.e., Romance Writers of America) in California. Think 2,000 people, writers, editors, and agents swarming around a hotel talking Romance.

The waiting is …excruciating.

Christine Ashworth, in her blog post said she could spot newbies (my word) by the, “…glazed look of panic in their eyes.” I’m there, baby, I’m sooo there.

I have:

sort of packed. (check)

endless lists. (check)

some sanity left. (check)

But …I don’t have my Daphne finalist ribbon which I would love to have for the Death by Chocolate event. The glorious Canadian postal service has one day left to deliver. What do you think the odds are?

Uh huh.

Not an easy person to live with at the moment. Kinda jumpy. Watched fireworks in the harbor from my balcony Saturday night, but not even whizzing, popping, colorful arrays of light could take my mind away from California.

So much to see, so many people to meet…so much to learn. Will I ever get my pitch right in my mind? Blah…blah…blah…blah…

I’ve been trying to write, but my word count is abysmal.

Am I rambling? Yup.

Twitter

To soothe my nerves I follow the twitter about the conference (#rwa12 and #rwatips). There are great tweets out there that reassure me that I’m as crazy as every one else. Everything from packing glitter shoes, heads falling off, pathological aversions and of course courage and confidence are alluded to in the short messages. My favorite was the suggestion by Dakota Cassidy, “Poke your head under bathroom stalls and play ‘find the editor/agent/uber author’ with your friends. It’s good clean fun.'”  Too funny.

Websites I found:

Lauren Dean RWA National Tips

Christine Ashworth Gearing Up…

..and so the waiting continues.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “RWA12 Countdown…”

    1. Lisa
      Thank you for your kind words. Empathy from good friends soothes my wobbly knees and warms my heart.
      Never has time passed so slowly for me. (That is if I don’t count the ninth month of pregnancy:)
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Christine
      Thanks for the vote of confidence. If I don’t trip over my feet on the way…I’ll see you on Wednesday.
      Looking forward to meeting you.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

