Pulease woman…he’s a guy!

It was a beautiful sunny day, a rarity around these parts lately. PJ and I strolled along the waterfront and stopped in at Starbucks. He had a regular latte. I had a decaf on ice.

As we chatted my vision stretched to our neighbors. I can’t help it. I’m a writer, and they stood out. She was twenty something and vibrant. Her face was on the plain side, but her breasts emphasized by a tight t-shirt were nicely rounded and perky. He was a jerk. What can I say. Probably in his fifties, weathered face and hardened eyes.He smelled foul.

But he was chatting her up big time, and she was soaking it in. Then she started talking, rambling on about her family problems. He listened as if she was dispensing pearls of wisdom from a sacred text. I couldn’t, thank goodness, hear the whole conversation, but when they got up to leave they spoke louder.

“I’ve really enjoyed our conversation,” she said eyes sparkling. “I can’t talk about these things to most people. I hope you stop by…”

“It’s been really good,” he said with rattlesnake eyes that didn’t leave her face.

They part. I breath a sigh of relief. Pulease woman…he’s a guy, an old wrinkly smelly guy…what on God’s Green Earth do you think he wants from you.

She leaves with a skip in her step and looks over her shoulder at him. OMG wake up sweetheart.

Two minutes after she’s gone, he stands outside on the corner of the street surveying the crowd…looking for another.

Sometimes it’s hard to be an older woman:)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

10 thoughts on “Pulease woman…he’s a guy!”

    1. Christine
      I know. I agree. It’s sooo painful to watch.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Great description of what you observed, Jo-Ann. Yeah, he’s a guy, but maybe he was a counselor on sabatical or a doctor escaping from his responsibilities. Or even a minister…oh, well. You’re probably right. 😦
    And I so agree to not going back to that “Youth Time.” Jeez. For the most part, all the synapses just aren’t firing yet. Not that there are plenty of clueless old folks around. Okay. Stop enough back & forthing. Have a good writing day.

    Like

    1. Marsha
      I love your line about misfiring synapses. That would define my youth. And I agree, I’m happy to be my age.
      As for the guy, he gave off waves of bad vibes. I think I should have worked more on that aspect, in my piece, to make it clearer. Thanks for the feedback
      And as always, thanks for adding to the dialogue and my day.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. What a beautiful description! I could see it in my mind’s eye. I’m feeling less crazy knowing that I’m not the only one who looks at strangers through a writer’s lens.

    Like

    1. Lily
      …a guilty, unavoidable pleasure for us writers, heh.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. Your description was wonderful. I could picture it and agree with you, it’s tough to be older (and wiser) knowing you can’t help all these clueless young women. But, I’m so jaded now that I sometimes lose sight of the goodness in folks. I don’t know which is worse.

    BTW, are you sure you live in Canada? I could have sworn I saw you at the Northwest Arkansas Mall last Friday.

    Like

    1. Hi Missy
      Arkansas? I wish. I hope I was looked good:)
      Ah yes, the jaded dilemma. I hear you. I hope I’m not, but then it’s hard to see in oneself.
      Thanks for stopping in and commenting.
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. Hi Kylie
      Have to say… I like men, and I don`t think they`re all bad. It`s just the few creeps that prowl around the edges that creep me out.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

