Oh **** Krikey

“Thirty year old women don’t say Krikey,” said my wise beta reader.

“But…” I say.

“They don’t. They don’t say Krikey.”

I was trying to not use profanity in my wip, but “Krikey” is clearly a  lame alternative. It was one of those…it sounded right when I wrote it moments… that when you seriously look at it later leaves you doubled over with laughter. And did we laugh.We started making up fake scenarios and adding Krikey. The ridiculous-nous of the word increased exponentially with every usage. Oh Krikey!

I don’t even say, or think, Krikey, how did it creep into my  heroine’s internal dialogue? Here are some of my wonderful lines:

1. “Krikey…even his voice is sensual”

2. “…this is megalust. Oh Krikey”

3. “What would he[the hero] think [if I slept with the bad guy]. Oh Krikey.”

The Krikey has to go. It’s definitely not working, but I’ll never be able to say, or think, the word again without laughing.

On the other hand, I don’t want to offend any reader with profanity, or lines like, “sweet mother of Jesus”, although I kinda like that line.

It’s definitely a ***  sweet Krikey day for me:)

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Oh **** Krikey”

  1. Oh krikey! I liked this blog!! Thing is. If you’re writing a suspense which will be read by people who always read suspence – then face it gol-darnit -.they’re used to a lot worse than kriky!!!

    Like

    1. Mi
      Too krikey funny, gol-darnit:)
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Hope you’re enjoying the writers’ retreat.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. You always make me smile, but today I’m laughing OUT LOUD! *sigh* You need to face facts Jo-Ann, some people say words worse than krikey, and you need to be true to the story. Besides, some folks take offense to unexpected things. You can’t make everyone happy.

    Wow! That sounded high-handed. Didn’t mean it that way.

    Like

  3. I’ve only run across that word when used as “By Krikey.” Like By Golly, By George. Never have seen it alone like that. Nor have I used it. However, I struggle with the same thing, Jo-Ann. When we write about bad characters, they sometimes say bad things. I figure most people reading a romantic suspense won’t be offended or at least not surprised. I remember the one and only time I’ve ever typed the F-word. (Which has never passed my lips.) When my critique partners read it, they cheered. I tend to be sort of a wimp. I’ve completed 5 books and that’s the only time I’ve ever used it. The guy was really a bad dude and I was typing along and plop. There it was. I was shocked. LOL But I left it in.
    I actually think krickey is growing on me. It reminds me of an old one from who knows where–“crimeinently” No idea what this means, and the spelling is possibly off. The first part is pronounced like “crime.” But in the whole word, I’d leave out the e. Okay, enough of this. Back to editing. Have a great writing day. I’ve got to work on brevity. 🙂

    Like

    1. Marsha
      Krikey, you make me feel better.
      I love the image of your cheering critique partners applauding your use of the F-word. LOL Glad you left it in.
      It fascinates me that our stories take us into nooks and crannies of life that we might never explore otherwise. I think it’s a gift from our characters:)
      Happy editing.
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

