Sunshine Award

I’m honored to have been passed the  Sunshine Award by Diane Kratz who writes the blog, Profiles of Murder. It’s an award bloggers pass on to their favorite blogs. Here’s what Diane wrote about me <blush>:

“Writing Dangerous Love Stories Filled with Mystery and Suspense. Jo-Ann’s home is in Canada. I love going to her blog and reading Jo-Ann’s posts. Her words take me away to a dreamland. She is an excellent writer whose descriptions are so vivid they pull you right in. I venture into her world and escape from my dark one.”

Sunshine? I never thought of myself as belonging in the same sentence with such a  “sunny” word. I think of my writing  as being on the moody side. But I’m not the reader, so I’ll take the praise and recognition. I’m flattered.

With this award comes responsibilities:

First, I need the “share the love and link” of the person who nominated me. That would be Diane Kratz of Profiles in Murder.

This is what Misty and Josie of Chick Swagger said about Diane’s blog:

Profiles of Murder –by romantic suspense writer Diane Kratz. Profiles of Murder is a tremendously educational site about criminal profiling, serial killers, FBI terminology, and crime fiction writing. Even though there’s often scary stuff on this site, it’s deserving of the sunshine award because it often makes crime writers’ research easier. And it’s interesting even if you’re not a crime writer!”

I’d like to add that:  The Profiles of Murder site fascinates me. Gritty content doesn’t bother Diane. She explores the dark side of crime with a clear analytical style that helps the rest of us understand it. One of my favorite posts was “Did you know there are eleven personality disorders?”

Second, I must answer the following ten, skill testing questions:

  • My favorite color: Fuschia (I know, so feminine… But I’m telling the truth)
  • My favorite animal: Men (ok, so I think they want an answer with fur. How about dogs. Definitely a second choice)
  • My favorite number: 13 (I was born on Friday the 13th upside down. It’s the truth)
  • My favorite drink: dry red wine
  • Facebook or Twitter: I’m a novice on both and enjoying them
  • Twitter: Jo_AnnCarson
  • Facebook: Jo-AnnCarson.10
  • My passions: Family (I have the cutest grandchildren on the planet),  writing, swimming, sailing, time with good friends
  • Prefer giving or getting presents: Giving.
  • My favorite pattern: no idea
  • My favorite day of the week: Sunday (It’s quieter)
  • My favorite flower: changes. Today it’s peonies because I saw a beautiful bouquet of them recently. I love flowers.

Third, I get to nominate other bloggers who deserve this award:

The Sassy Scribbler (Slice of life writing about life and writing – with a touch of sass)  Lisa McManus Lange writes a warm hearted blog about life. Like a modern day Erma Bombeck, her stories bring a smile to my face. I’ll never forget her post, “A Book Nook and Tea,” about stealing left over food from the the prestigious Empress Hotel in Victoria. It was just so outrageous…and so Lisa. Many of her stories can also be found in several editions of Chicken Soup for the Soul. Lisa deserves the Sunshine Award for writing uplifting stories that warm the heart and touch the soul.

Believe Mimi Barbor deserves the Sunshine Award because she uses her blog, and a good part of her life, to promote other writers. How cool is that! In books she writes about angels, time travel and recently crime, but her blog is all about writing and writers. She’s the sunniest personality I know.

Missy Writes Melissa M. Frye writes Women’s Fiction, and her blog explores facets of the writing life. She interviews interesting writers and talks about writing topics. Today, in a post entitled, “So What is Chick Lit, Anyway?” Melissa examines the complex issue of defining your writing. As we all know, it’s important to know where your writing fits, but it’s not easy to figure it out. Missy deserves the Sunshine Award for well-written blog and for being so supportive of other writers.

Last, but not least… I want to thank all my readers for their support. You make writing fun. And a big hug to Diane for passing the award to me.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

7 thoughts on “Sunshine Award”

Leave a Reply

